Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

Porsche’s TUSC Driver Squads Announced

Porsche AG and Porsche Cars North America (PCNA) have announced the factory drivers who will compete for the 2014 Tudor United SportsCar Championship in the Porsche North America entered, Core autosport-prepared Porsche 911 RSR GT-Le Mans class entries.

Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland 2012
Michael Christensen

Car #911 will be driven by Nick Tandy and Richard Lietz , while car #912 will compete with Patrick Long and Michael Christensen at the helm, with two additional Porsche factory drivers – Patrick Pilet and Joerg Bergmeister – joining the teams for the upcoming Rolex 24 at Daytona.

The #911 Tandy/Lietz/Pilet Porsche and the #912 Long/Christensen/Bergmeister entry will make their on-track debut at the ROAR Before the Rolex 24, January 3 – 5, 2014. The effort will utilize the new Porsche 911 RSR, the same as the 2013 24 Hours of Le Mans LM GTE-Pro class-winning entries.

The headquarters for the program will be at Porsche Motorsport North America (PMNA) in Santa Ana, Calif. CORE autosport, Rock Hill, South Carolina, will act as the competition partner for the programme.

There is a wealth of endurance racing championship experience with this driver lineup, with Lietz scoring class wins at both the Rolex 24 (2012) and the 24 Hours of Le Mans (2010, 2013); and Patrick Long winning his class at the Rolex 24 (2009), 12 Hours of Sebring (2005), 24 Hours of Le Mans (2004, 2007), and Petit Le Mans (2005, 2006, 2007).

Christensen, in his first year as a Porsche Junior in 2013, finished sixth in the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup series season standings with one event win in addition to the Rookie of the Year title. Tandy finished the 2013 American Le Mans Series by co-driving the Team Falken Tire Porsche to the GT class victory at Petit Le Mans.

Porsche 911 RSR, Porsche AG Team Manthey: Marc Lieb, Richard Lietz

As for the Rolex 24 third driver additions, Bergmeister and Pilet are endurance veterans as well. Bergmeister has won the Rolex 24 (2002, 2003, 2009), 12 Hours of Sebring (2004, 2005, 2008), 24 Hours of Le Mans (2004), and Petit Le Mans 2003 – 2007). Pilet, a former Porsche Carrera Cup France champion, has a win at the 24 Hours of Dubai to his credit.