Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

FIA WEC 2014 By The Numbers Part One, LMP1


Toyota Motorsport and drivers Anthony Davidson and Sebastien Buemi take their first World Endurance Championship titles.

WEC 6 Hours of Bahrain

5 teams started at least one FIA WEC race in 2014, 4 started all of them (Audi, Porsche, Toyota and Rebellion) with the Lotus LMP team starting 5.


6 different makes of car started races (the five above plus Rebellion’s Lolas at Silverstone)

4 different makes of engine featured (Audi, Porsche, Toyota and AER) with three different hybrid systems in the LMP1 Hs, and three different engine configurations too, V4 Turbo, V6 TDI and normally aspirated V8.


Ignoring for a moment the odd swapped chassis (take a bow Audi!) we had 12 different race cars on WEC grids this season racing under 10 different numbers, 3 x Audi #1,2 & 3, 2 x Porsche #14 & 20, 2 x Toyota #7 & 8, 2 x Rebellion (Lola and Rebellion R-Ones #11 & 12, 1 x Lotus CLM AER #9)

All three factory teams won races in 2014.

Toyota won 5 races (4 wins for the #8, 1 for #7), Audi won twice (both for the #2 car) and Porsche once (#14)

Toyota scored four pole positions (3 for #8, 1 for #7) with Porsche also scoring four (the #14 Porsche scoring three poles and the #20 one).

The #8 Toyota only finished off the podium once all season (Bahrain).

The #8 and #7 Toyotas, and the #12 Rebellion were the only LMP1 cars to score at every round in the overall drivers points standings.


32 different drivers scored in the Drivers World Championship in 2014.

Porsche’s two driver squads stayed stable through the whole season as did the #2 Audi.

The #1 Audi saw Marc Gene sub for the injured Loic Duval at Le Mans, the #8 Toyota lost Nicolas Lapierre after COTA, the #7 Toyota saw Mike Conway substitute for Kazuki Nakajima three times.

Three further drivers were entered in WEC races but neither raced nor scored (Simon Trummer, Nathaniel Berthon and Oliver Jarvis).

Swiss drivers finished 1st, 2nd and third in the 2014 points standings, Seb Buemi winning the title ahead of Marcel Fassler and Neel Jani!


Only Rebellion won races in LMP1-L, the #12 crew taking five with the sister #13 winning three times.


The #12 crew finished a season best fourth overall twice, at Silverstone with the Lola Toyota and at Le Mans with the Rebellion R-One.


Only Shanghai saw all three LMP1-Ls finish the race.

The best result for the #9 Lotus CLM came on its debut at COTA with second.


The #13 Rebellion crew did not finish a race until winning at Fuji.


Rebellion stayed with the same crews all season.

The #12 crew finished 10th overall in the Drivers World Championship scoring the same points total as the #20 Porsche crew but losing out to a better overall best finish for the Porsche.

The CLM’s AER V6 is the first non hybridised turbo engine in LMP1 in the WEC.

WEC Records

Audi are still the Manufacturer with the most overall wins in the WEC over its three year history (12), Toyota though now have 11 with Porsche a single win.


Marcel Fassler, Andre Lottrer and Benoit Treluyer now have a WEC record 8 overall race wins, Nicolas Lapierre has 6 wins and 2014 World Champions Sebastien Buemi and Ant Davidson have 5 along with Alex Wurz. Tom Kristensen finishes his career with 4 together with Loic Duval and Allan McNish.


18 different drivers have now taken at least one overall WEC race win. Romain Dumas is the only driver with a race win for two different factory teams, a win apiece for Audi (Spa 2012), and Porsche (Interlagos 2014).


Mike Conway and Stephane Sarrazin are the only men with race wins in both LMP1 and LMP2 – Marc Gene has had an LMP1 win and a podium in LMP2. Mathias Beche has won in LMP2 and LMP1-L.


The all-time top points scores in the WEC are now the 2014 #2 Audi crew: Marcel Fassler, Andre Lotterer and Benoit Treluyer with 448.75 points, they overhauled Tom Kristensen’s total during the 2014 season (438).