Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

FIA WEC 2014 By The Numbers: Part Three, GTE


The 2014 season saw AF Corse dominate proceedings with four race wins and consistent point scoring seeing the team, and Ferrari score their third and second consecutive Team and Manufacturer Championships respectively. Gianmaria Bruni scored his second consecutive GT Drivers World Championship (no title was awarded in 2012) Tony Vilander meanwhile scored his first WEC GT drivers championship.



Ferrari and AF Corse have now won 12 of the 24 GTE pro races run so far with Aston Martin Racing on seven, Porsche Team Manthey on three and, from 2012, Felbermayr Proton with two.

Nine different drivers scored wins in the class in the 2014 championship with just two of them, Marco Holzer and Patrick Pilet (below winning in Shanghai), scoring their first WEC GTE Pro wins. That brings the total number of different winning drivers in the class to 15 in the first three years of the championship.


Bruni’s four wins in 2014 take his total to a record 10 wins in the class, ahead of Tony Vilander on seven and Darren Turner and Stephan Mucke on six apiece.

Fred Makowiecki has four class wins, uniquely though these are spread between two manufacturers, Porsche and Aston Martin.

Five men: Bruni, Vilander, Giancarlo Fisichella, Turner and Mucke have won races in all three seasons of the WEC thus far.

Marco Cioci and Bruno Senna are the only two drivers to have scored wins in both GTE Pro and GTE Am. Both also did so in the same year, Cioci in 2012 for AF Corse and Senna in 2013 for AMR.

Two drivers, Marc Lieb and Romain Dumas, have scored wins in GTE Pro and LMP1, Lieb winning in GTE in both 2012 and 2013 and in LMP1 in 2014, all wins coming at the wheel of Porsche machinery. Dumas took a single win in 2012 for Audi in LMP1 and repeated that feat for Porsche in GTE Pro in 2013.

Across both GTE classes Aston Martin and Aston Martin Racing now have the current record for most races won with with 19. Ferrari and AF Corse (including AF Waltrip and 8Star) have 16, Porsche 10 (across three different teams) and Corvette, with Larbre Competition, 3 from 2012.


It was a dominant year for Aston Martin Racing, The championship winning #95 Young Driver AMR V8 Vantage GTE of Kristian Poulsen, David Heinemeier Hansson and Nicki Thiim never finishing lower than second across the eight races of the season.


The #95 car took four wins with the sister #98 car of Paul Dalla Lana, Pedro Lamy and Christoffer Nygaard taking a further three.


The 98 car too never finished off the podium all season, the pair of Aston Martins between them producing no fewer than five one-two finishes.

The only other car to take a win in 2014 was the #61 AF Corse Ferrari of Luis Perez Company Marco Cioci and Mirko Venturi.


The huge 2014 haul gives Aston Martin Racing a dominant and record-breaking 12 wins overall in GTE AM WEC history, all of them coming in the last two years. AF Corse are next up with 4 wins over the last three years including wins for their AF Waltrip and 8Star customer teams. Felbermayr Proton scored 4 in 2012 with their privateer Porsche and Larbre Competition scored 3, all of them in 2012 with their Corvette. IMSA Performance took a single win in 2013.

No fewer than 28 drivers have scored class wins in GTE AM.

Kristian Poulsen (second from the left here on the Le Mans podium) has a record 7 wins with Christoffer Nygaard on 6 and Nicki Thiim with 5, all three of course are Danish!

Poulsen-Thiim-Heinemeier Hansson

Also on 6 though is Pedro Lamy, the Portuguese driver having scored 3 apiece for Aston Martin racing in 2014 and in the Larbre Corvette in 2012.

A race win for Luis Perez Companc in 2014 sees the Argentinian join Enzo Potolicchio and Julian Canal on the short list of drivers that have won both in GTE Am and LMP2.