Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

Roar Before The 24 Entry Lists 53 Cars

The entry list for the Roar Before the 24 test at Daytona International Speedway has been published with 53 cars listed for the test from Friday to Sunday (9-11 January).

The Prototype class holds few surprises amongst a 16 car entry with the DeltaWing still awaiting confirmed drivers.

There are six P2 cars listed, the pair of new HPD Coupes for ESM, a pair of Mazda (Lolas) from the factory backed Speedsource team and two Ligier Coupes, the Judd engined car from Krohn Racing and Michael Shank Racing’s new Honda engined version. All bar the Mazdas will be making their first public appearances.


That leaves nine DPs to complete the entry with the pair of Ford EcoBoost engined Rileys from Chip Ganassi Racing, Scott Pruett, Charlie Kimball, Sage Karam and new boy Joey Hand in the #01 car, Scott Dixon, Tony Kanaan, Kyle Larson and Jamie McMurry in the ‘star car’ #02.

Confetti For Winners Rojas, Rahal, Hand And Pruett

Peter Baron’s Starworks effort is one of a trio of Dinan BMW engined Rileys with his star studded line-up (Barrichello, Hartley, Kerr, Graves and Mayer) likely to show real speed.

The 50 Plus Racing car features the return to the track of Dorsey Schroeder as a keystone for the fundraising fun bus. The arrival of RG Racings rookie DP effort was covered on DSC earlier this evening.


The final four cars are all Corvette bodied cars, all now featuring the new C7 style bodywork.

Wayne Taylor Racing and Racing (nee Spirit of Daytona) enter a car apiece with a pair from Action Express.

The #5 car again lists Joao Barbosa and Christian Fittipaldi together with Sebastien Bourdais whilst the Whelen Engineering backed #31 car, newly installed in the AXR awning lists Eric Curren, Max Papis and new full season signing Dane Cameron alongside the Sunoco Daytona Challenge winning potential surprise package of Phil Keen.

GTLM has a nice round 10 cars listed – Full season double entries from Corvette Racing (with new boy Simon Pagenaud listed in the #4 car), BMW Team RLL and Porsche North America.


Aston Martin Racing lists a single car (see today’s earlier story) as do Falken Tire (full season), Risi Competitzione (full season) listing Messrs Kaffer and Rigon and AF Corse, listing Emmanuel Collard and Francois Perrodo for the test.

The PC class lists 8 cars for the test, the #8 Starworks effort listing Mirco Schultis, Renger van der Zande, Alex Popow and Mike Hedlund.


BAR1 are the only team with a two car entry listed, Johnny Mowlem in their #16 car and Martin Plowman in the #61 amongst the highlights there.

RSR, Performance Tech, PR1 Mathiasen, Core and JDC Miller also bring singleton cars to the Daytona party.

Finally the GTD entry lists 19 cars for the test, that compares poorly to the 28 listed for the same test in 2014.

Five of the 19 list the TBA brothers at present though one of these is the Turner Motorsport BW effort, now confirmed as a returnee for the full season with multiple 2014 race winner and 2014 2014 BMW Sport Trophy Champion Markus Palttala joined by Michael Marsal, Andy Priaulx will join the team for Daytona.

Markus Palttala

Riley Motorsport field a pair of GTD spec Vipers though as yet without full driver line-ups listed.


Klaus Bachler is named amongst the line-up aboard the Konrad Motorsport 911 GT America, together with Christian Engelhart (though the latter is contesting the Dubai 24 Hours this weekend)

Ian James, Mario Farnbacher and Alex Riberas are named in a second, #23 Alex Job entered Porsche.

Entry List Here >>