Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

BMW Confirms 2015 VLN & N24 Drivers, Westbrook Confirmed

BMW Sports Trophy Team Schubert and BMW Sports Trophy Team Marc VDS, each with two works-supported BMW Z4 GT3s, will compete in the 2015 VLN (and Nurburgring 24 Hours)


As mentioned in Soren Herweg’s VLN Test Day report the test saw the first opportunity for Richard Westbrook to try out the Z4 GT3 as he looks forward to tackling the ‘Green Hell’ with BMW for the first time.

Richard Westbrook 7

He’ll be joined by  Lucas Luhr, Jörg Müller, Dirk Müller, Dirk Werner, Dirk Adorf and Claudia Hürtgen in the BMW roster, all of whom have won on the ‘Ring.

Jens Klingmann, 2014 BMW Sports Trophy winner Markus Palttala, Alexander Sims, Dominik Baumann and Nick Catsburg will also feature together with DTM stars Marco Wittmann, Augusto Farfus (overall winner in the 2010 N24, Maxime Martin and Martin Tomczyk.

“We’re convinced that with BMW Sports Trophy Team Schubert and BMW Sports Trophy Team Marc VDS, as well as our outstanding driver line-up, we are in an excellent position for the endurance season on the Nürburgring-Nordschleife,” said BMW Motorsport Director Jens Marquardt.

“Our team has a mix of old-hands and young talent, who all have experience of the Nordschleife, are familiar with GT racing and are fast even in difficult conditions. With this combination we are ready for success in the special challenges that the Nordschleife has in store once again in 2015.”

BMW Sports Trophy Team Schubert and BMW Sports Trophy Team Marc VDS are using the first two VLN races (28th March/25th April) and the qualifying race for the 24 Hours Nürburgring (12th April) to prepare for the endurance classic on 16th/17th May. The selection of drivers used for the preparatory races will also provide the drivers who will take the wheel of the two BMW Z4 GT3s in the 24-hour race.

The VLN race is also set to see a boost in the numbers in the new for 2014 BMW M235i Racing Cup class, which will once again be held as part of the VLN Endurance Championship. Up to 15 cars battled for points and win and the number of participants for the ten rounds will be even higher in 2015.