Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

FIA WEC: Silverstone, By The Numbers Part 3, LM GTE



The win at Silverstone extends Gianmaria Bruni’s class winning total to a record 11, Toni Vilander now has 7 to go equal second with Giancarlo Fisichella in all time Pro class wins in the WEC.

Gimmi Bruni LM 2014

The same result gives AF Corse a record 13th Pro class win, and now 15 class wins in total keeping them one ahead of Audi Sport Team Joest in the class wins stakes but staying behind Aston Martin Racing (on 20). Add in the customer efforts of Pecom Racing and 8Star and AF Corse run cars have now taken 19 class wins in three different classes.


Ferrari have now taken a record 13 Pro class wins, all with AF Corse. Add in four Am class wins and the prancing Horse has the second highest total of class wins, 17 – ahead of Audi but behind Aston Martin (on 20).

Nicki Thiim meanwhile set his first Pro class pole position, adding in five previous occasions where he set the fastest qualifying time in the Am class and that takes the Dane to six, level pegging with Olivier Pla and Stefan Mucke. This becomes only the second driver to set fastest qualifying time in two classes – Bruno Senna was the other, also in Aston Martins.


Thiim also set his first Pro class fastest Race lap. Only he and Patrick Pilet have done so in both GTE Classes.

It was a first WEC podium finish for Michael Christensen in the second placed #91 Manthey Porsche. and a 12th for Richard Lietz.


It was a fifth consecutive podium finish for the #71 AF Corse crew of James Calado and Davide Rigon and an eighth consecutive Pro class podium finish for both AF Corse and Ferrari.

James Calado 1


The GTE Am win for the #98 Aston Martin takes AMRs class winning total as both a team and manufacturer to 20 over the 25 races in the FIA WEC’s history.


It also puts the AMR podium total to 47 vs the AF Corse (including 8 Star) GT total to 44 podium finishes.

That total includes a record 13 class wins in LM GTE AM.

Pedro Lamy’s win takes him to seven in the class, now the clear leader in all time wins ahead of Kristian Poulsen and Raymond Narac.

Paul Dalla lana takes a fourth class win and Mathias Lauda scores a class win on his WEC debut.


SMP Racing score a class podium on their GTE AM debut. The Russian team though have yet to take a class win anywhere in the WEC.

Andrea Bertolini scored a third consecutive WEC podium finish.

Silverstone saw Aleksey Basov score a podium finish on his WEC debut.

Rui Aguas scored his second podium finish in the WEC, his first came in 2012!