Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

Porsche Repeat Bentley’s Four Cylinder Success

With thanks to Colin Smith for the pointer.

Another significant historical note from the 2015 Le Mans 24 hours is that it marks the first time in 87 years that a car powered by a four cylinder engine has won the race and the first time ever that a turbocharged 4 cylinder engine has done so.

The 1928 race was won by the Bentley of Woolf Barnarto and Bernard Rubin.

1927 Numbers


Track length: 17.261 kilometres (10.725 mi)
Winners distance 154 laps (2669.272 km)
Fastest Lap – #3 Bentley Motors Ltd. – 8:07
Average Speed – 111.219 km/h

2015 Numbers


Track length: 13.629 km
Winners Distance: 395 laps (5383.45 km)
Average speed: 224.31 km/h
Fastest Lap: 3:17.476 – Lotterer