Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

Starworks Reveal Team Of 10 For 2016!

Starworks Motorsports has announced its full season lineup for the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship with a two car Prototype Challenge class effort featuring the #8 and #88 ORECA FLM09s.


“We’re confident 2016 will be a strong year for Starworks,” said team wwner Peter Baron. “For the first time since the new integrated series, we have been able to get our programs sorted for the season with two cars before the holidays. This has allowed us to plan and prepare for the upcoming season, which has been a weakness of ours for the last two seasons.”

Renger van der Zande and Alex Popow return for the year in the #8 car, with Jack Hawksworth and Chris Cumming added for Daytona.

David Heinemeier Hansson joins van der Zande and Popow for Sebring and Petit Le Mans.

In the #88 car Ferrari Challenge racer Mark Kvamme is the only driver slated to be ever present for the season.

2015 FIA F3 European Championship winner Felix Rosenqvist is joined by Sean Johnston and FIA GT3 World Cup Champion Maro Engel for Daytona with Engel and Johnston joining Kvamme for the remaining North American Endurance Cup races too.

For the sprint races Ashley Freiberg, who joins Turner Motorsport for the NAEC, joins Kvamme!

“We have fantastic lineups all year in both cars, and have made massive improvements with the team in the off-season,” said Peter Baron. “With all that we have accomplished in the winter months, I strongly feel we are now the team to beat in 2016.”