Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

Le Mans: Notes From Monday Scrutineering 3

More pour weather on Monday afternoon may have played a significant part in what were disappointing numbers of the public attending in La Place de la Republique. Attendance was noticeably down on previous years.

During yesterday a revised scrutineering schedule saw the KCMG squad appear as a direct replacement for the anticipated pair of Signatech Alpine Nissans, which were moved to the former’s Monday slot. The Alpines were then moved again to become last-through at the very end of Monday’s order. There was no explanation offered for the move, despite a number of polite enquiries. It is now believed that the swap was done to try to bolster attendance numbers through the full day, with a French team bringing up the rear after an afternoon dominated by American squads.


At 17:30 this evening the latest unveiling of the bronze plaque bearing last year’s winners’ handprints took place in Place Saint-Nicolas in the city centre of Le Mans. Earl Bamber and Nick Tandy were both in attendance, although Nico Hülkenberg was unable to attend, having taken part yesterday’s Canadian Grand Prix. He finished in eighth place, garnering a valuable 4 points for Force India.

Tracy Krohn is en route to Le Mans on a commercial flight via JFK after difficulties with air traffic control radar, linked to the current extreme weather being experienced in Texas, which prevented his own aircraft from taking off.

Matteo Malucelli is the other drive still with travel woes. He too is expected to arrive tomorrow, and will be permitted to complete his required administrative and safety checks at the circuit.

The team transporters for the Road to Le Mans LMP3/GT3 race began to arrive at the circuit this afternoon, setting up with plenty of ‘TBA’ drivers still to be confirmed before the race next Saturday.

However, amongst the latest crews to be confirmed are Alex Kapadia joining Thomas Dagenau in the #15 Duqueine Engineering Ligier JSP3 and 2015 ELMS LMP3 Champion, Charlie Robertson, joining the boss in the Lawrence Tomlinson-entered Ginetta LMP3.