Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

Estoril: Post Race Notebook

JMW, Guasch and Laurent recognised, Marc Haynes remembered, 60th Ligier P3 sold, 5 up, 5 down in 2017 LMP3 'League'

JMW, Guasch and Laurent Recognised by ELMS

The post season awards ceremony for the 2016 European Le Mans Series was held at the Estoril Casino with class Team and Drivers trophies awarded together with a trio of additional awards:

Team of the Year went to JMW Motorsports, Jim McWhirter on stage to accept the award with the pain of the team’s astonishing ill-fortune in the final round still very raw indeed.

Gentleman Driver of the Year went to 2016 LMP3 Drivers Champion Mike Guasch, and Rookie of the Year went to standout talent Thomas Laurent who anchored the #18 M Racing YMR effort to a first LMP3 win on Sunday.


Marc Haynes Remembered

Both United Autosports Ligiers carried vinyls remembering Bute Motorsport founder Marc Haynes who passed away last week.


LMP3 Growth Continues

Bute Motosports Hannah Wilson and Phil Boland were in the Estoril paddock over the weekend as plans progress for the 2017 Prototype Cup in the UK for LMP3 and CN machines.

Also in Estoril was Creventic’s Ivo Breukers, there to support his son Rik who was racing for Eurointernational. ACO President Pierre Fillon told DSC on Sunday that talks were underway between ACO and Creventic over the latter organisation’s planned Prototype Series.

60th Ligier JS P3 sold

Jacques and Pierre Nicolet (who will feature in an extensive interview on DSC in the coming days) confirmed on Sunday that the 60th Ligier JSP3 has now been sold.

Five Up, Five Down For LMP3

In the wake of the announcement on Sunday of an LMP3 class in the newly reconstituted Michelin Le Mans Cup for 2017 Gerard Neveu confirmed that the current intention is to see relegation/ Promotion of five LMP3 teams between the ELMS and Michelin sponsored Series at the end of each season.