Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

Silverstone Added To WEC ‘Super Season’, Asian Races Moved

Petit Le Mans clash eliminated

The FIA WEC has announced today that Silverstone is set to fill the final slot on the 2018/19 ‘Super Season’ calendar in the series, as a double-header on August 19th 2018 with the European Le Mans Series. The ELMS race will take place on the Saturday, before the WEC’s on Sunday.

Also, both Fuji and Shanghai in 2018, have been moved back a single week, meaning there is no longer a clash with Petit Le Mans, freeing up the entire IMSA NAEC for WEC teams and drivers. It does however mean, there is a potential clash with the Intercontinental GT Challenge at Laguna Seca and the FIA Macau GT World Cup.

This comes after the original date announced for the only vacant round on the calendar was set for February 2019, before the Sebring 12 Hours, which on the surface appeared to point to a second race in The Americas, prompted by the WEC’s CEO Gerard Neveu saying on air before the 6 Hours of Mexico City that two races in America would be on the schedule. However, after further considerations, the WEC has moved the calendar spot to August, putting Silverstone back on the schedule.

Silverstone was one of four races taken off the calendar when it was first released, the others being Bahrain, Mexico City and CoTA. Traditionally, the Northampton-based circuit has been the season-opening race, aside from the inaugural season in 2012 when the race was held in September.

This leaves three races in 2019 for the ‘Super Season, at Sebring, Spa and Le Mans, however, the 2019/20 season is set to start after Le Mans that season, with that calendar still an unknown.

Another date change on the new calendar is the 36-hour pre-season Prologue test at Circuit Paul Ricard, which has moved from the 5-6 of April, to the 6-7.

DSC understands, that of the three available options in The Americas known to have a relationship with the WEC (CoTA, Mexico City and Interlagos), deals were either not offered, or rejected.

The revised 2018/19 calendar is as follows:

6 & 7 April: The Prologue, Circuit Paul Ricard (FRA)
4 & 5 May: WEC 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps (BEL)
16 & 17 June: 24 Hours of Le Mans (FRA)
19 August: 6 Hours of Silverstone (GB)
21 October: 6 Hours of Fuji (JPN)
18 November: 6 Hours of Shanghai (CHN)
16-17 March 2019: 12 Hours of Sebring (USA)
4 May 2019: WEC 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps (BEL)
15 & 16 June 2019: 24 Hours of Le Mans (FRA)