Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

Craft Bamboo Claims FRD LMP3 Series Championship In Zhuhai Finale

Winslow wins the Drivers' Title.

The FRD LMP3 Series Championship reached the conclusion of its maiden season last weekend in Zhuhai.

The #95 Craft Bamboo Racing Ligier JSP3 driven by James Winslow and Hiroki Yoshida (subbing for Mathias Beche who was competing at COTA in the WEC this week-end) won the title after finishing first in this week-end’s opening race and third in the main race. It is Craft Bamboo Racing’s second prototype title after earning the CN Class of the Asian Le Mans Series in 2014.

Their immediate contender before this round, the #17 PTRS Ligier JSP3 driven by Andrew Waite and Yann Clairay, had a disappointing week-end. In the opening race, Waite collided with the #88 FS Sports Ligier JSP3 during the very first lap and lost considerable time as a consequence. The car finished in eighth position.

In the Main Race, Clairay collided this time with the #3 Eurasia Ligier JSP3 and lost several positions, again in the first lap. The car took the checkered flag in seventh position.

KCMG ultimately took the second place of the team’s championship after winning the main race this Sunday.

The two teams’ prize is the free use of a Ligier JS P2 (for the winner) and a Ligier JSP3 (for the first runner-up). Craft Bamboo Racing and KCMG get an automatic entry in the 2017-2018 season of the Asian Le Mans Series as well. One of these teams could also get an automatic entry and a fully paid for Ligier JSP217 in the 24 Hours of Le Mans should they win the next Asian Le Mans Series Championship.

In the drivers’ championship, James Winslow won the title. The 36-year-old Brit had seven podium finishes including four victories in eight FRD LMP3 races this season. Josh Burdon finished in second position.