Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

IMSA Prototype Challenge Season Opener Attracts 25 Car Entry

Cosmic Norma amongst 14 car LMP3 class entry, race shown live on IMSA TV

The first IMSA-sanctioned race of the season gets underway on Saturday during the Roar Before the Rolex 24 Hours test.

The IMSA Prototype Challenge bucks the testing trend with their first range of a season that sees the race format change from two short sprint races to a single 105 minute enduro race per meeting.

The season opener sees a 25 car entry, 14 x LMP3s and 11 of the Mazda powered MPC class Elan DP02s.

The Ligier JS P3 remains numerically dominant with 12 of the 14 cars on the LMP3 entry with a single Ave Riley and Norma M30 also listed.

2017 ELMS LMP3 Champion Sean Rayhall features in the #51 K2R Ligier but it’s the #47 Norma though that looks set to be the head turner, Forty7 Motorsports have commissioned a spectacular new “Cosmic” livery from Designer Wraps, as this video shows.

Part of the front bodywork is reflective too (pictured above) so any running in darkness is likely to see the cameras attracted to the #47 car like moths to a flame!

Also listed, albeit with drivers TBD, is a Ligier for the D3+ transformers outfit that has not as yet appeared on the LMP2 entry as planned.

The race will be broadcast live on IMSA TV with the regular IMSA Radio crew commentating from 13:45 local time on Saturday

Entry List: IMSA Prototype Challenge, Daytona

LMP3 Class (14 cars)
3: Max Hanratty / Michael Whelden Extreme Speed Motorsports Ligier JS P3
4: Roman De Angelis ANSA Motorsports Ligier JS P3
7: Charles Wicht / Leo Lamelas Charles Wicht Racing Ligier JS P3
17: Corey Lewis / Matt Dicken P1 Motorsports Ligier JS P3
23: Henry Gilbert Gilbert LMP3 Racing Ligier JS P3
25: Kenton Koch / Joel Janco(M) P1 Motorsports Ligier JS P3
30: Kris Wright Extreme Speed Motorsports Ligier JS P3
33: Lance Willsey Extreme Speed Motorsports Ligier JS P3
42: Jim Garrett(M) / Robert Foley III P1 Motorsports Ligier JS P3
44: Josh Hurley / Gary Gibson Ave Motorsports Ave-Riley AR2
47: Austin McCusker / David Droux Forty 7 Motorsports Norma M30
51: Rob Hodes / Sean Rayhall K2R Motorsports Ligier JS P3
75: Cameron Cassels(M) Performance Tech Motorsports Ligier JS P3
84: TBD TBD / TBD,TBD D3+ Transformers Ligier JS P3

MPC Class (11 cars)
11: Robert Masson Performance Tech Motorsports Elan DP02 Mazda
18: Wyatt Schwab Elan DP02 Mazda
21: Stuart Rettie Elan DP02 Mazda
22: Stephen Dawes Performance Tech Motorsports Elan DP02 Mazda
24: Tim George Eurosport Racing Mazda
28: Bart Wolf / Tazio Ottis Wolf Motorsports Elan DP02 Mazda
31: Michal Chlumecky Eurosport Racing Elan DP02 Mazda
34: Jon Brownson Eurosport Racing Elan DP02 Mazda
36: Paul LaHaye ONE Motorsports Elan DP02 Mazda
46: Jay Salmon ODU Motorsports Elan DP02 Mazda
77: Howard Jacobs Performance Tech Motorsports Elan DP02 Mazda