Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

43 Cars On Sebring 12 Hours Entry

A big grid for the second NAEC round of the 2018 IMSA season

The entry list for year’s Sebring 12 Hours, the 66th running, has been released, and features 43 cars, including 16 runners in Prototype, nine in GTLM and 18 in GTD.

Within the Prototype field, all 10 DPis are back for the second round of the season, along with a further six global LMP2s. The absentees, who competed at the Rolex 24 Hours are Jackie Chan DC Racing’s pair of ORECAs, the second United Autosports Ligier JS P2, and BAR 1 Riley. Another prototype missing is the D3+Transformers LMP2, the team skipped Daytona, and is again not on the list.

GTLM meanwhile, is almost completely unchanged from Rolex, with all nine factory cars back in action, only Porsche not with its full line-ups, the team scaling back to two drivers in each 911 RSR. In the #911 Patrick Pilet and Nick Tandy are listed, and in the #912, it’s Laurens Vanthoor and Earl Bamber.

There’s come key milestones within that field too, Corvette’s Jan Magnussen making his 20th Sebring start, and BMW’s Bill Auberlin making his 25th. Oliver Gavin, one of Magnussen’s teammates at Corvette, meanwhile, has the most class wins of anyone in the field, and will be gunning for his seventh victory at the historic circuit this year.

GTD’s list features multiple entry changes, the field now 18 cars, down from 21 in January’s race. Grasser Racing, which won the Rolex 24, is not on the entry, neither is Manthey Racing’s Porsche or Risi’s GT3 Ferrari. There is an addition however, the CJ Wilson Racing Acura, making its first IMSA start, with Marc Miller, Till Bechtolsheimer and newly announced third driver Kuno Wittmer.

Elsewhere in the driver ranks, Sean Rayhall will compete for the first time with 3GT Racing, in newly-retired Scott Pruett’s seat. That move has led to a re-shuffle at HART, which ran with Rayhall, Chad Gilsinger, Ryan Eversley and John Falb in its Acura NSX GT3 at Daytona. This time round, Tom Dyer will race with Gilsinger and Eversley.

There’s also been a change at Land Motorsport, its Audi set to be driven by Rolex duo Chris Mies and Sheldon van der Linde and team debutant Alessio Clemente Picariello. Kelvin van der Linde and Jeffrey Schmidt, who competed with the team at the opener, will not join it at Sebring.