Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

Final Le Mans Entry & Test Entry Revealed

Multiple changes up and down the order

The ACO has released the full entry list for the 2018 Le Mans 24 Hours and the Le Mans 24 Hours Test Day, which features finalised line-ups for all 60 cars entered, and an updated reserve list.

In LMP1, the only change comes in the CEFC TRSM squad. Both Ginettas are still entered although Ginetta driver Mike Simpson has been placed in the #5 G60-LT-P1 in place of Dean Stoneman.

“I literally found out this morning!” He told DSC. “It’s been a bit of a day really! I got told I was in the car, because I have lots of endurance experience in 12 and 24 hour races. The company knows my skillset and that and that I can do solid and consistent jobs. That’s what they want for Le Mans 24 Hours.

“I have already done the Le Mans sim test, which was all fine. I’ve been at all the tests, helped with the drivers and developed the drivers. I’ve been the guy helping to this point. I’d always tried to get a seat and was always the reserve driver, so to get a drive is amazing.

“It’s the 60th anniversary of Ginetta, a British car manufacturer, at Le Mans in LMP1, so to be part of the story and the dream is something that for me is hard to describe.”

The rest of the list remains the same as it was for the 6 Hours of Spa Francorchamps, both SMP Racing BR1 AERs and the DragonSpeed BR1 Gibson are still listed following their respective incidents at the season opener.

In LMP2 meanwhile, both Jackie Chan DC Racing Ligier JS P217 Gibson driver crews have been set. David Cheng, Nicholas Boulle and Pierre Nicolet will drive one, while Ricky Taylor, Come Ledogar and David Heinemeier-Hansson will drive the other.

The third driver in the #26 G-Drive Racing ORECA 07 Gibson has also been confirmed, Andrea Pizzitola driving with Roman Rusinov and Jean Eric-Vergne.

Racing Engineering ELMS driver Norman Nato and reigning Asian Le Mans Series title holder Harrison Newey are the final two drivers in SMP’s Dallara P217 Gibson meanwhile alongside Viktor Shaitar.

GTE-Am’s entry has also seen some additions, with Spencer Pumpelly and Tim Pappas set to drive the #99 Proton Competition Porsche 911 RSR alongside the already listed Pat Long.

There have been no changes in the GTE Pro ranks.

The reserve list has been shortened, the only two remaining entrants being the #55 Spirit of Race Ferrari, and the High Class Racing Dallara. The rest of the remaining reserves have been withdrawn, including the KCMG Dallara and Racing Engineering ORECA.

Alongside the full Le Mans entry, the Test Day entry has also been released, and features multiple additions, as usual in the driver line-ups for certain cars.

Toyota test and reserve driver Anthony Davidson is listed in both Toyota TS050 Hybrids; Fernando Alonso and Jose Maria Lopez are also listed in both.

Similarly in LMP2, Wayne Boyd is listed in both the United Autosports Ligiers. And Ryan Cullen and Matt McMurry are due to test the #25 Algarve Pro Racing Ligier.

The #26 G-Drive ORECA has a fourth driver, Alexandre Imperatori, who stood in Jean-Eric Vergne in the European Le Mans Series season-opener at Paul Ricard, will join the team’s Le Mans trio. The #39 GRAFF ORECA does also, Alexandre Cougnaud an additional driver,.

In GTE, Nick Yelloly has been named as a fourth driver #56 Team Project 1 Porsche in GTE-Am. while in GTE Pro, Dirk Werner meanwhile, is scheduled to drive both the #92 and #93 911 RSRs.

Due to a clash with IndyCar, Tony Kanaan, Scott Dixon, Sebastien Bourdais will not be present, nor will, Augusto Farfus and Phillip Eng, both on DTM duty.