Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

Aston Martin Racing Festival Entry Released

Chris Hoy, Martin Brundle, GT1s and Vulcans headline the list

The Aston Martin Racing Festival entry list has been published, 38 cars set to take on the Le Mans 24 Hours-supporting race, across multiple classes.

In amongst the entry is Sky F1TM commentator and former Le Mans winner Martin Brundle, multiple Olympic gold medal winner, Sir Chris Hoy, ‘Bake Off’ star Paul Hollywood, David Richards, Andy Palmer and John Gaw from Aston Martin, plus many drivers that will be familiar to DSC readers such as Ross Gunn, Benny Simonsen, Shaun Lynn, Jamie Chadwick, and Rik Breukers.

“I’d never miss a chance to race on the full Le Mans circuit, I love that track,” said Brundle, whose Vantage GT4 will also be entered by the AMR Performance Centre. “This will be particularly special partnering Sir Chris Hoy in a beautiful Aston Martin Vantage GT4. Chris is a good friend and handy on the pedals in every respect.

“The competition looks strong so I’ll be seeking plenty of advice from my son Alex who also races an iconic Aston Martin V12 Vantage GT3 around Europe.”

The car list is also stunning, with a number of different Aston Martins, including the V12 Vantage GT3 – entered by, among others Jetstream Motorsport, TF Sport and Young Driver AMR, whose car will be driven by team owner Jan Struve and Aston Martin Racing Managing Director John Gaw. There are also older DBR9 GT1s, Vantage GT2s and even the 2016 FIA-World Endurance Championship-winning #95 ‘Dane Train’ V8 Vantage GTE driven by Marco Sørensen’s brother Lasse on the entry list.

In addition to that, there’s also a pair of Aston Martin Vulcans making their race debut and a yet-to-be-announced Invitational entry.

“Having taken part in this event in 2015, I can say first-hand it will be a tremendous experience,” said Andy Palmer, Aston Martin CEO. “Moreover, this is a wonderful celebration of all that Aston Martin Racing has achieved since we returned to the sport as a manufacturer. To be able to display so many different iconic Aston Martin racing cars, as well as the stunning Vulcan, in front of 250,000 fans is a testament to the durability of our brand.”

The 45-minute race is set to take place on the Saturday of the 2018 24 Hours of Le Mans on the full circuit at La Sarthe at 10:15 CET.

Provisional Entry List:

GT3 #32 22GT Racing Tom Alexander/Adrian Willmott

GT3 #3 Aston Martin Racing Ross Gunn

GT3 #77 Backbox Racing & R Motorsport Alexander Lienau

GT3 #47 Jetstream Motorsport Graham Davison

GT3 MB Racing Mike Brown/Paul Cripps

GT3 #11 TF Sport Mark Farmer

GT3 #59 Young Driver AMR Jan Struve/John Gaw

GT4 #9 22GT Racing Dean Gibbs/Richard Marsh

GT4 #88 22GT Racing Martin Buckland

GT4 #61 Academy Motorsport JM Littman/Rik Breukers

GT4 #62 Academy Motorsport Fiona James

GT4 #63 Academy Motorsport Steven Davison/Steve Phillips

GT4 #4 Aston Martin Belgium Arnold Herreman

GT4 #19 Aston Martin Belgium Jean-Paul Herreman

GT4 #97 Aston Martin Performance Centre Jurgen Kroner/Wolfgang Schuhbauer

GT4 Aston Martin Performance Centre Andrew Palmer/Peter Cate

GT4 Aston Martin Performance Centre Jamie Chadwick/Paul Hollywood

GT4 Aston Martin Performance Centre Martin Brundle/Chris Hoy

GT4 #1 Beechdean AMR Andrew Howard/David Richards

GT4 #10 EDF Motorsports Malcolm Sandford

GT4 #44 Generation AMR Super Racing James Holder/Matthew George

GT4 #33 R-Motorsport Joshua Reynolds/Markus Lungstrass

GT4 #69 Speedworks Motorsport Piers Johnson

GT4 #7 Street Art Racing Jean Marc Bourdouch/Albert Bloem

GT4 #60 Stratton Motorsport Robin Marriott

GT4 #71 Stratton Motorsport David Tinn

GT4 #66 Stratton Motor Co / TRG Jeff Huber

GT4 #68 Team BRIT Warren McKinlay/Jamie Falvey

GT4 #91 Weathertech Stephen Archer/Felix Archer

GT4 #57 Whitebridge AMR Chris Murphy/Barry McMahon

GT4 #15 Whitebridge AMR Bonamy Grimes

Vulcan #8 Aston Martin Performance Centre Akinari Miura/Toro Nakano

Vulcan #6 Aston Martin Performance Centre Gleb Stepanov/Stephen Tomkins

GT2 Motohistorics Shaun Lynn

GT1 #94 Sporting and Historic Cars Nikolas Ditting

GT1 #100 Sporting and Historic Cars Dieter Roschmann/Dominik Roschmann

GTE #95 Young Driver AMR Benny Simonsen/Lasse Sorensen

INV Aston Passion Vincent Bialostotski/Bernard Pascal