Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

DSQ Disaster Turned To Title Winning Joy For Pixum Team Adrenalin Trio

News and updates from VLN9

Christopher Rink, Danny Brink and Phillip Leisen are 2018 VLN Champions after the ninth and last round of the VLN.

The Pixum Team Adrenalin Motorsport trio took six wins in the highly contested V4 class for production cars up to 2,500cc cubic capacity and collected valuable points with their results in the other races, the overall VLN title awarded with points accrued depending not only on results overall and in class, but with the points tally determined by the level of competition in the classes!

“I am just overwhelmed”, said Team Principal Matthias Unger, himself a VLN Champion in 2008.

In addition to scoring first place in the series, the Porsche Cayman of the same team and with drivers Norbert Fischer, Christian Konnerth and Daniel Zils Rang finished second in the Championship.

Both cars also scored first and second places in the VLN Production Car Trophy.

“I cannot believe yet what we have achieved”, said Rink after the finish and Brink added: “In particular after what happened as a follow-up of the eighth race, I am really relieved now.”
The Adrenalin BMW was disqualified after VLN8 as a consequence of a technical protest. The team then lodged an appeal against this decision and the appeal was upheld by the DMSB Court of Appeal which found that the car complied with the Technical Regulation in relation to the contested points. “We were literally running on adrenalin and are extremely happy that we have now finally secured the title”, said Leisen.

Third position in the championship goes to Stephan Köhler and Christian Kohlhaas who took their ninth class win nine races with their Ferrari 458 at the season finale. Due to the low number of cars in their class SP8 however their points tally fell short of the BMW trio.

Tristan Viidas wins the VLN Junior Trophy

The winner of the VLN Junior Trophy meanwhile is Tristan Viidas.

In the Securtal Team Sorg Rennsport BMW M235i Racing Cup of, the Estonian beat his rivals Finn Unteroberdörster and Janis Waldow who finally finished second in the rookie classification with their Renault Mégane.

The top three were completed by Tobias Müller, Nico Otto and Lars Peucker who shared the wheel in the BMW M235i Racing Cup of Scheid-Honert Motorsport.

Ton-Up Volker

A historic success at the 43rd DMV Münsterlandpokal was achieved by Volker Strycek. The long-time Opel Sports Director scored a class win in SP3T in an OPC Opel Astra (he also ran, as usual in the venerable H2 class Manta), together with his children Lena and Robin – which marked his 100th class win in the VLN statistics (stats have only been maintained since 1990).

Strycek is the only second driver to accomplish this feat. With 102 class victories, Ralf Schall is currently still the most successful VLN driver.

New Supra Makes World Debut

As exclusively revealed on DSC (Scoop – Breaking!!), the new A90 Toyota Supra made its global race debut in VLN9, the car running in SP8T with Akio Toyoda a late addition to the driving squad.

The car ran as TMG in Cologne and Toyota Gazoo racing in Japan look to evaluat the platform for motorsport programmes, a GT4 version of the car looking the most likely course for the straight-six powered coupe that shares its platform woth the new BMW Z4.

Perrodo & Co In RS.01 Run

Whilst much of the attention in the SPX class was on the pair of new GT3 cars for 2019 – Manthey running the new spec Porsche, Land Motorsport fielding the Audi R8 LMS Evo, a third SPX entry was also of real interest, Francois Perrodo, Manu Collard and Matthieu Vaxiviere pedalling a R-Ace GP entered Renault RS.01.

After qualifying woes the car started dead last but worked its way up into the top 10 at times, eventually finishing a fighting 16th.

Brundle & Beretta Clear Final ‘Ring Permit Hurdle

Alex Brundle and F3 racer Michele Beretta were amongst the racers to clear the required hurdles to the full ‘Ring Permit that will permit them to race in VLN and the N24 in 2019 in any class.

A second outing in a ProSpeed Cayman in VLN9 scored the pair a class podium in V5.