Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

Falken Take VLN9 Win & Clinch VLN Speed Trophy

Strategy and speed combine for Bachler and Ragginger

Klaus Bachler and Martin Ragginger clinched victory at the VLN season finale after a smart strategy call gave them an advantage in the second half of the race over a pair of chasing Mercedes.

The #4 Falken Motorsports 4 Porsche 911 GT3.R was in control for the final 30 minutes, Ragginger easing off as Raffaele Marciello closed to a 5.3 second gap at the flag in his #47 HTP Mercedes-AMG GT3, shared with Patrick Assenheimer and Maxi Götz.

Marciello’s dash to the line saw the HTP AMG’s long-time racing shadow, the #6 Black Falcon AMG GT3 drop back in the closing stages, a gap that had been seldom more than a second or two eventually going out to 20 seconds at the flag, Yelmer Buurman bringing the car home that he shared with Hubert Haupt and Luca Stolz.

Falken took the VLN Speed Trophy (awarded for the top scoring top class team of the season) with the win, aided in no small part too by the Frikadelli Racing team having an awful weekend, just one SP9 car entered after accident damage for their other Porsche in VLN8, and then the solo intended starter going off in qualifying, the damage too much to fix before the start, despite a delay for fog.

There was no SPX Aston Martin for the season finale, but both the 2019 Evo Audi R8 LMS (Land Motorsport), 7th, and the forthcoming new version of the Porsche 911 GT3.R (Manthey racing), 14th were out and racing once again.

Falling out of contention were the once-leading Land Motorsport Audi, and the pole setting Walkenhorst BMW whilst another troubled run for Augusto Farfus saw another attempt at a solo VLN win fall rather short for BMW Team Schnitzer.