Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

BMW Reveals 2019 GTE & GT3 Programmes

IGTC, FIA GT World Cup, N24, IMSA, and WEC commitments confirmed

BMW has released details of its 2019 racing programmes in GT3 and GTE, the Bavarian marque continuing its strong presence in GT racing around the world.

In GT3, the M6 GT3 will take part in the Nurburgring 24 Hours, FIA GT World Cup in Macau and the full Intercontinental GT Challenge.

The Walkenhorst Motorsport team intends to compete in the full IGTC with BMW, with two cars, one of which will feature Augusto Farfus and Martin Tomczyk. All other drivers and the team will be announced at a later date. Walkenhorst will also race in the Nurburgring 24 Hours, as will ROWE Racing and Falken Motorsports. BMW works drivers such as Marco Wittmann, Philipp Eng, Farfus, Tomczyk and Timo Scheider will be part of the overall drivers’ squad.

The full squad of drivers and teams will also be announced at a later date.

As well as the BMW M6 GT3, the BMW M4 GT4 will also be in action, as well as the BMW M240i Racing, which will run with a new name after an update package for 2019 – its previous name was the BMW M235i Racing.

Beitske Visser will continue to be supported within the BMW Motorsport Junior programme. Among other things, she will gain valuable experience as a reserve and test driver in Formula E. Mikkel Jensen has also been promoted to the rank of BMW works driver.

On the GTE front, BMW will continue to race with M8 GTEs in IMSA and the FIA WEC.

BMW Team RLL kicks off proceedings at the end of January with the 24 Hours of Daytona, where BMW brand ambassador and works driver Alessandro Zanardi will be among the squad of drivers. Tom Blomqvist joins Bobby Rahal’s team as a new regular driver too as part of the plans, the Briton gaining experience in 2018 racing in select WEC rounds with MTEK.

“Even more international, even more spectacular: that is a good way to sum up the BMW Motorsport race programme for 2019,” said BMW Motorsport Director Jens Marquardt. “With BMW M Motorsport, we will contest in renowned race series and at some of the biggest iconic races there are.”

The BMW Motorsport driver line-up for 2019:

IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship (BMW Team RLL):

Tom Blomqvist (GBR)
Connor De Phillippi (USA)
John Edwards (USA)
Jesse Krohn (FIN)
Philipp Eng (AUT)
Colton Herta (USA)
Chaz Mostert (AUS)
Alex Zanardi (ITA)

FIA World Endurance Championship (BMW Team MTEK):

Nick Catsburg (NED)
Augusto Farfus (BRA)
António Félix da Costa (POR)
Martin Tomczyk (GER)

Intercontinental GT Challenge:

Confirmed BMW team: Walkenhorst Motorsport
Confirmed BMW works drivers: Augusto Farfus (BRA) and Martin Tomczyk (GER)
Additional teams and drivers to be announced later

24h Nürburgring (among others ROWE Racing, FALKEN Motorsports, Walkenhorst Motorsport):

ROWE Racing: Tom Blomqvist (GBR), Nick Catsburg (NED), Connor De Phillippi (USA), John Edwards (USA), Philipp Eng (AUT), Jesse Krohn (FIN), Marco Wittmann (GER), Nick Yelloly (GBR)
Other confirmed BMW drivers: Augusto Farfus (BRA), Martin Tomczyk (GER), Timo Scheider (GER)

Additional teams and drivers to be announced later