Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

TGM Mercedes On Pole For Pilot Challenge Race At Sebring

Record-breaking lap from Trinkler

Owen Trinkler in the Team TGM Mercedes-AMG GT4 qualified on pole for tomorrow’s Michelin Pilot Challenge Race at Sebring after a session that was hampered due to a red flag.

Trinkler’s time of 2:10.521 was just 0.048 seconds clear of the next best time in the session. This is Trinkler’s second pole in the GS class and set a new GS track record by over a second.

“We made some changes to make it a little quicker on the one lap flyer. I’m just so excited, we will rebound a little bit from Daytona. I’m so happy to be here and seeing all the fans here, hopefully, we can get a win.” Said Trinkler.

The #75 Compass Racing McLaren 570 GT4 qualified second thanks to the efforts of Kuno Wittmer and his 2:10.569. The #75 McLaren is coming off a win at Daytona where their McLaren benefited greatly from a high top-end speed.

Third, in the session was the #39 Carbahn Motorsports Audi R8 GT4. Tyler McQuarrie set a 2:10.902 for himself and teammate Jeff Westphal to start tomorrows race from the inside of row two.

The aforementioned red flag was caused by the #11 BGB Motorsports Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 CS. Thomas Collingwood went off at turn seventeen, leading to a bundle of tyres finding their way onto the track near the exit of the turn.

In the TCR class, the #17 JDC-Miller Motorsports Audi RS3 LMS TCR of Britt Casey Jr. and Mikey Taylor qualified on pole thanks to 2:13.751 from Casey Jr. They and they sisters in the #54 Audi RS3 LMS TCR have topped most of the practice sessions thus far this weekend, and appear to be an early favourite for the win.

“It’s great to be back,” Casey Jr. said. “I love these new tyres, there is a new vibe in the paddock this weekend and it’s unlike any other, I’m just so happy to be a part of it.”

1.214 seconds off the pole time was the #84 Atlanta Speedwerks Honda Civic TCR Brian Henderson setting a 2:14.965 meaning him and Todd Lamb will start tomorrows race from the outside of the first row.

Rounding out the top three and making it three manufacturers at the front of the gird was the #98 Bryan Herta Autosport with Curb Agajanian Hyundai Veloster N TCR. Mark Wilkins put down a best lap time of 2:15.107 after completing five laps. This is a good performance for the Hyundai who struggled in their debut at Daytona earlier this year.

The #5 KMW Motorsports Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR was the only car to not a set a lap during the session, meaning that Roy Block and Tim Lewis Jr. will start the race from fifteenth.

Photo courtesy of TGM