Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

DragonSpeed To Shift Focus To IndyCar In 2020, LMP1 Programme To Cease

But full ELMS and race by race LMP2 programmes to remain

2017 ELMS title winners and 2019 LMP2 race winners in IMSA, elms and FIA WEC DragonSpeed are to shift their focus to an expanded IndyCar programme in 2020 at the expense of their current FIA WEC LMP1 programme with the BR1 Gibson.

DragonSpeed Team Principal Elton Julian said, “The Le Mans 24 Hours next month will be our final LMP1 and regular WEC outing, allowing us to ramp up our IndyCar efforts on both the technical and marketing fronts.”

“We’re not leaving the WEC entirely, as we plan to enter our #21 LMP2 ORECA O7-Gibson in individual rounds, including Spa, Brazil, and Le Mans, with Le Mans, of course, subject to us earning or being granted an invitation. We’re also considering running Daytona and Sebring with IMSA again.”

Julian did though give a huge vote of confidence in the rise of the European Le Mans Series, where DragonSpeed won the title in 2017 under the G-Drive Racing brand, winning the opening race of the current season too at Paul Ricard.

“We’ll definitely be continuing in the ELMS, which we think offers the best sportscar racing on the planet and remains the ideal series for the top gentleman drivers. With the kind of competition you get from 19 regular LMP2 entries, we take pride in the fact that the last two ELMS victories with a Bronze driver, in 2016 and 2019, have been ours.”

On the eve of the team attempting to qualify for its first Indy 500, Julian explained, “For us, the potential for growing DragonSpeed as an engineering and commercial concern is far clearer in IndyCar than anywhere else in the sport, given the quality of racing and stable formula. That’s what’s driven our decision.”

On the driver front, no announcements about the LMP2 programme have been made but DSC expects the programme to feature some regular names with the team. The team’s current WEC driver squad is working to finalise a deal to remain in the Championship as the same trio that took the class win earlier this month at Spa.