Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

Majority Of Suzuka 10 Hours Driver Crews Revealed

Engel, Marciello and GruppeM looking to take a second consecutive victory in Japan

The majority of Intercontinental GT Challenge driver crews contesting August’s Suzuka 10 Hours have been confirmed by SRO.

The latest entry list includes plenty of changes and additions to the driver crews, across the teams racing with the eight marques represented.

Arguably the biggest news is that Mercedes-AMG’s championship-leading trio of Maxi Buhk, Raffaele Marciello and Maxi Goetz split up for Suzuka. Maro Engel joins Buhk and Marciello at GruppeM Racing, while Goetz switches to a Craft-Bamboo entry that also includes Luca Stolz and Yelmer Buurman. This change ensures that Engel, Marciello and GruppeM have the chance to score back-to-back Suzuka 10 Hours victories together.

Their 2018 co-driver, Tristan Vautier, is paired with Strakka Racing’s Lewis Williamson and Gary Paffett just as he was at Laguna Seca, while Mercedes-AMG’s fourth crew comprises home favourites Kamui Kobayashi, Nobuteru Taniguchi and Tatsuya Kataoka who again join forces at Goodsmile Racing.

Mercedes-AMG’s fifth entry, which is only eligible to score Bronze Drivers’ Championship points, is shared by SunEnergy1’s familiar duo of Kenny Habul and Mikael Grenier. The identity of their co-driver will be revealed in due course.

Porsche’s two full-season crews remain unchanged, although their pro line-ups are split across two teams. Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour winner Earl Bamber Motorsport returns with Romain Dumas, Sven Muller and Mathieu Jaminet, while Absolute Racing runs Matt Campbell, Dennis Olsen and Dirk Werner.

That same duo occupies joint-second in the standings with California 8 Hours winner Nick Foster whose HubAuto Corsa co-drivers are still to be confirmed. Tim Slade, who joined Foster at Bathurst and Laguna Seca, has a clashing Australia Supercars commitment, while the Ferrari’s third seat was previously shared by Nick Percat and Miguel Molina. Maranello’s other two IGTC representatives are both Japanese Pro/Am entries.

The same clash preventing Slade’s participation also applies to Chaz Mostert whose BMW Team Schnitzer seat is filled by the team’s VLN driver, Nick Yelloly.

Nissan’s full-season squad, KCMG, has reverted to its Bathurst 12 Hour line-up, recalling Tsugio Matsuda who was unavailable for Laguna Seca. He joins fellow home favourite Katsumasa Chiyo and Josh Burdon aboard the Hong Kong team’s #35 GT-R, while Alex Imperatori, Oliver Jarvis and Eduardo Liberati remain unchanged in #18.

Two-thirds of Honda’s line-up has altered since its first official IGTC outing at Laguna Seca, where Mario Farnbacher claimed pole position in an NSX GT3. He and Renger van der Zande make way for Marco Bonanomi and Hideki Mutoh, who also raced the NSX at Suzuka last season. Fellow Honda Super GT driver Bertrand Baguette, who drove an NSX GT3 at last year’s Spa 24 Hours, completes the trio.

Audi Sport announced its three line-ups last week, while Bentley will confirm a third driver for its #108 Continental following July’s Total 24 Hours of Spa.

Most drivers for all three additional international entries not registered to score #IntGTC points have also been confirmed.

Strakka Racing field Christina Nielsen, Adam Christodoulou and an as yet unknown third driver in its second Mercedes-AMG; Alex West and Chris Goodwin will race Garage 59’s new Aston Martin; and AMAC Motorsport has entered a previous-generation Porsche for Andrew Macpherson, Ben Porter and Brad Shiels.

A total of 37 cars are already confirmed for this year’s 48th Summer Endurance Race, which takes place on August 23-25.