Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

GT News Notebook

Häkkinen's Suzuka McLaren revealed, Burke and MacLeod get Blancpain call-ups and Audi's N24 line-ups confirmed

Häkkinen’s Suzuka McLaren 720S GT3 unveiled

Former F1 World Champion Mika Häkkinen took the wraps off the McLaren 720S GT3 that he will be racing at the Suzuka 10 Hours, Round four of the 2019 Intercontinental GT Challenge, in August.

The car was unveiled on Thursday at McLaren Monaco, part of the preamble to the Monaco Grand Prix.

The car is backed by the iNZDR social media app that Häkkinen has co-founded and features detailing with the helmet colours of the 1998 and 199 Formula One World Champion.

Callum MacLeod gets Paul Ricard Bentley seat

Bentley Motorsport’s programme to rotate their additional drivers for the Spa 24 Hours into the Team M-Sport line-up continues at Paul Ricard as Callum Macleod makes his debut with the team.

MacLeod is named in the #108 Continental GT3 together with Andy Soucek and Maxime Soulet.

Macleod’s placement follows those for Alex Buncombe at Monza and Silverstone, and of Lucas Ordonez and Markus Palttala for the California 8 Hours at Laguna Seca.
MacLeod’s call-up comes courtesy of the previous form with Team Parker Racing’s customer Bentley operation.

 Seb Morris and Rodrigo Baptista are the other additions to the Bentley squad for Spa.

Darren Burke called up for Paul Ricard and Spa

Reigning Asian Le Mans Series LMP2 Am Champion Darren Burke has been called up by RAM Racing for the Paul Ricard 1000kms, Round three of the 2019 Blancpain Endurance Cup.

Burke will share the #74 AMG GT3 with full-season duo Tom Onslow Cole and Remon Vos and will stay on with the team to contest the Spa 24 Hours.

It marks a return to the team where Darren raced last season for the first three rounds of the Championship scoring a Pro-Am win on home ground at Silverstone.

Audi confirm N24 line-ups

Three teams and a total of five 2019 spec Audi R8 LMS cars will see factory support from Audi Sport Customer racing for the 2019 Nürburgring 24 Hours (June 22/23).

“We’re focusing our support this year on the Car Collection Motorsport, Land Motorsport and Phoenix Racing teams. Each of these teams has already won at least one 24-hour race with Audi,” says Chris Reinke, Head of Audi Sport customer racing.

“Two Audi drivers from the DTM and nine Audi Sport drivers from customer racing will compete at the Nürburgring in a total of five Audi R8 LMS.”

Three-time Nürburgring winner Markus Winkelhock and two-time winner Christopher Haase are sharing a cockpit in Audi Sport Team Car Collection with three-time Le Mans winner Marcel Fässler.

DTM Champion René Rast, who, like Kelvin van der Linde, has taken a single win at the N24, is racing for Audi Sport Team Land together with Christopher Mies, the 2015 and 2017 winner.

Rast and Haase have also been nominated as additional drivers for the respective other car.

Former winner Frank Stippler is going to race with Audi Sport Team Phoenix. Audi Sport drivers Dries Vanthoor and Pierre Kaffer complete this lineup together with their teammate Frédéric Vervisch, who won the Dubai 24 Hours in January.

In addition, Stippler has been entered together with Audi factory driver Jamie Green from the DTM for a privately fielded R8 LMS from Phoenix Racing.

Privateer drivers Vincent Kolb and Kim-Luis Schramm have been nominated for this car as well.

Finally, Rahel Frey provides driving support to the privateer RaceIng team, racing alongside Bernhard Henzel, Frank Schmickler and Pavel Lefterov.

Car Collection Motorsport is also entering a second car with a privateer driver team.

Audi Sport Team Car Collection 
Christopher Haase/Marcel Fässler/René Rast/Markus Winkelhock
Audi Sport Team Land 
Christopher Haase/Kelvin van der Linde/Christopher Mies/René Rast
Audi Sport Team Phoenix 
Pierre Kaffer/Frank Stippler/Dries Vanthoor/Frédéric Vervisch
Car Collection Motorsport 
Stefan Aust/Christian Bollrath/Jean-Louis Hertenstein/Klaus Koch
Phoenix Racing 
Jamie Green/Vincent Kolb/Kim-Luis Schramm/Frank Stippler
Team RaceIng 
Rahel Frey/Bernhard Henzel/Pavel Lefterov/Frank Schmickler