Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

Podium Place Now Reserved For Highest-Placed LMP2 Bronze Driver

Four drivers eligible to fight for the new podium spot

The Bronze-rated driver that finishes the highest up the order in LMP2 will receive a prize and take a spot on the podium in the FIA WEC in the 2019/20 season.

This change to the sporting regulations sees the top three crews joined by the aforementioned Bronze driver on the podium after each race. The rest of the Bronze drivers’ crew will not take places on the podium though.

Four Bronze drivers are entered for the 2019/20 season, Mark Patterson (High Class Racing), Alexandre Coigny (Cool Racing), Roberto Lacorte (Cetilar Racing) and Frits van Eerd (Racing Team Nederland). Though van Eerd will not take part in the full-season, he will not make the trip to Shanghai later this year due to other commitments.

This does mean though, that half of the eight cars in the class will be eligible to compete for this new prize.

The Endurance Committee Decision can be found HERE >>>