Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

12 Cars On Provisional Bahrain Rookie Test Entry

Multiple names added to the list

12 cars are on the provisional entry list for the 2019 FIA WEC Bahrain Rookie Test next month, with many new names to report.

In LMP1, three cars feature, two Toyota Gazoo Racing TS050 HYBRIDs and a single Rebellion R-13.

In the two Toyotas, current factory drivers Kamui Kobayashi and Brendon Hartley join the previously confirmed trio of Nyck de Vries, Kenta Yamashita and test and reserve driver Thomas Laurent. Rebellion meanwhile, has no drivers listed at this stage.

LMP2 meanwhile sees four cars listed, three ORECAs and the G-Drive Racing Aurus, which will race in Bahrain as a guest car.

The Aurus will be driven by reigning ELMS LMP3 champion Mikkel Jensen, Jonathan Cochet (who has been downgraded from Gold to Silver), Harrison Newey and ex-F1 man Roberto Merhi.

The only other driver confirmed at this point is Michael Markussen aboard the High Class Racing ORECA, the Dane out testing ahead of a forming 2020 LMP2 programme. (Expect more news on DSC regarding his plans very soon)

The other two cars are the JOTA and Jackie Chan DC Racing ORECAs, which have no drivers confirmed.

In the GTE ranks, four of the six Pro cars will take part and just one GTE Am car is booked in, the #57 Team Project 1 Porsche.

Pro sees AF Corse’s pair of Ferraris and Porsche’s two 911 RSR 19s on the entry. The #71 488 will be driven by factory driver Alessandro Pier Guidi and Dane Nicklas Nielsen (who has been driving with AF Corse in Am this year). AF’s #51 example has no names attached.

The only driver listed for Porsche is previously confirmed Dutchman Job van Uitert, who is down to drive the #91.

Vincent Abril (who took part in the WEC race at Shanghai with Proton in Am) will drive with Team Project 1 alongside American Maxwell Root, a Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge USA racer.

The test will run between 10:00-12:00 in the morning before an afternoon session from 13:00-16:00 on Sunday 15 December.