Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

Appeal Against Portimao Penalty Lost By Inter Europol

Championship and 2020 Le Mans auto-entry confirmed for Eurointernational

The appeal against the driving hours infringement at Portimao that cost the #13 Inter Europol Competition Ligier the ELMS class race win, and subsequently both the LMP3 title and associated auto-entry for the 2020 Le Mans 24 Hours, was rejected today by the FFSA appeal tribunal.

The decision by the FFSA also means that EuroInternational is confirmed as race and championship winner with their #11 Ligier JSP3 for Mikkel Jensen and Jens Petersen.

The Eurointernational Le Mans entry is likely to be crewed by drivers from Asian Le Mans Series team Rick Ware Racing in the LMP2 class at the 2020 Le Mans 24 Hours.

Driver Cody Ware told DSC last weekend in Shanghai that whilst an agreement was in place for the entry, there is, as yet, no firm decision on the choice of car. There are options in play for Ligier and ORECA chassis as well as the Multimatic Mk.30 that the Rick Ware Racing team will campaign in selected IMSA races in 2020.

There is a seven day period for Inter Europol to appeal the decision from the point at which the decision is received by the appellant.