Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

Porsche Confirm 2020 Works Drivers & Programmes

Two new works drivers

The Porsche Night of Champions motorsport gala tonight at Weissach saw the usual catalogue of significant news emerge as Porsche reflected on its 2019 motor racing year, a year that saw Championship wins in the FIA WEC, IMSA and IGTC.

The defence of the WEC title is, of course, underway, and Porsche confirmed this evening that they will again enter four cars in GTE Pro for the 2020 Le Mans 24 Hours.

The two championship-winning teams from the FIA WEC and the IMSA WeatherTech Championship again looking to join forces, this time with the new generation 911 RSR.

The new RSR meanwhile makes it IMASA debut at the 2020 Rolex 24 Hours at Daytona and will do so with a revised full-season driver line-up:

In the #911 car, Nick Tandy wi be joined by Frédéric Makowiecki, Fred replacing Patrick Pilet in IMSA competition. Matt Campbell will complete the trio for the major endurance events.

The sister #912 911 RSR will see the reigning Champions return, Earl Bamber and Laurens Vanthoor. Mathieu Jaminet joins the team at the endurance events.

Campbell and Jaminet become full Works drivers for the first time, stepping up from the marque’s development programme via Porsche Junior and then Young Professional status.

The pair make it a total of 18 Works drivers for the coming year across Porsche’s GT and Formula E programmes plus two Young Professionals and two Porsche Juniors.

Stepping down from Works driver status are Brendon Hartly, Timo Bernhard and Jörg Bergmeister.

Two Porsche Juniors will take on the 2020 Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup: Jaxon Evans from New Zealand contests his second season as a junior. In November, Turkey’s Ayhancan Güven won the Porsche shootout and now joins the Porsche Motorsport junior programme.

Parallel to their jobs as test and development drivers in Formula E, Porsche works driver Simona de Silvestro and Porsche Young Professional Thomas Preining will also compete in GT racing.

De Silvestro joins forces with former Porsche Junior Klaus Bachler to contest ADAC GT Masters for the Team 75 Bernhard.

Preining receives a regular seat in the Intercontinental GT Challenge and the GT World Challenge Europe. In the FIA WEC, he will continue to support Dempsey Proton Racing.

Porsche Young Professionals Matteo Cairoli and Dennis Olsen have successfully concluded their training from juniors to professional racers and will contest selected championships for Porsche customer teams next season.

Porsche Motorsport driver squad 2020

Porsche works drivers
Earl Bamber (29/New Zealand)
Gianmaria Bruni (38/Italy)
Matt Campbell (24/Australia)
Michael Christensen (29/Denmark)
Romain Dumas (41/France)
Kévin Estre (31/France)
Mathieu Jaminet (25/France)
Neel Jani (35/Switzerland)
Richard Lietz (35/Austria)
Patrick Long (38/USA)
André Lotterer (38/Germany)
Frédéric Makowiecki (39/France)
Sven Müller (27/Germany)
Patrick Pilet (38/France)
Simona de Silvestro (31/Switzerland)
Nick Tandy (35/Great Britain)
Laurens Vanthoor (28/Belgium)
Dirk Werner (38/Germany)

Porsche Young Professionals
Thomas Preining (21/Austria)
Julien Andlauer (20/France)

Porsche Juniors
Jaxon Evans (23/New Zealand)
Ayhancan Güven (21/Turkey)

Overview of racing series

ABB FIA Formel E Championship Season 6
99X Electric – Neel Jani / André Lotterer

FIA World Endurance Championship 2019/20
911 RSR #91 – Gianmaria Bruni / Richard Lietz
911 RSR #92 – Michael Christensen / Kévin Estre

IMSA WeatherTech Championship 2020
911 RSR #911 – Frédéric Makowiecki / Nick Tandy / Matt Campbell (only North American Endurance Cup)
911 RSR #912 – Earl Bamber / Laurens Vanthoor / Mathieu Jaminet (only North American Endurance Cup)

Intercontinental GT Challenge
911 GT3 R
Matt Campbell
Mathieu Jaminet
Patrick Pilet
Dirk Werner
Thomas Preining
Matteo Cairoli