Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

US Racer Alan Brynjolfsson Takes 2019 Porsche Cup

Park Place Cayman driver takes privateer award in its 50th year

US racer Alan Brynjolfsson has been awarded the 2019 Porsche Cup, presented to the most successful privateer Porsche race driver in the world.

The trophy was presented this year for the 50th time, was awarded for the 50th time based on an idea of Ferry Porsche for all national and international drivers who yielded race results in a vehicle manufactured or recognised by Porsche.

Dr Wolfgang Porsche, Chairman of the Supervisory Board at Porsche, presented the awards on the occasion of the Night of Champions.

The Porsche Cup trophy and a Porsche road car valued at over 140,000 Euros were the prizes for Park Place Motorsports racer Brynjolfsson who earned points in Pirelli GT4 America and the Michelin Pilot Challenge.

The 2019 awards are also the first time a Porsche Cayman racer has received the Cup.

 Brynjolfsson’s win prevented last year’s winner Christian Ried from completing a hat-trick of wins – Ried finished second in the 2019 order and received 30,000 Euros, with Trent Hindman from America taking home 25,000 Euros for third.

Previous Porsche Cup Winners

2018 Christian Ried
2017 Christian Ried
2016 Robert Renauer
2015 Ryan Dalziel
2014 Jaap van Lagen
2013 Martin Ragginger
2012 Nick Tandy
2011 Gianluca Roda
2010 Gianluca Roda
2009 Dirk Werner
2008 Alex Davison
2007 Johannes van Overbeek
2006 Wolf Henzler
2005 Tim Sugden
2004 Stephane Ortelli
2003 Marc Lieb
2002 Kevin Buckler
2001 Wolfgang Kaufmann
2000 Mike Fitzgerald
1999 Cort Wagner
1998 Franz Konrad
1997 Franz Konrad
1996 Bruno Eichman
1995 Lilian Bryner/Enzo Calderari
1994 Price Cobb
1993 Edgar Dören
1992 Oscar Larrauri
1991 John Winter
1990 Bernd Schneider
1989 Bob Wollek
1988 John Winter
1987 Volker Weidler
1986 Klaus Ludwig
1985 Jochen Mass
1984 Henri Pescarolo
1983 Bob Wollek
1982 Bob Wollek
1981 Bob Wollek
1980 John Fitzpatrick
1979 Klaus Ludwig
1978 Bob Wollek
1977 Bob Wollek
1976 Bob Wollek
1975 Claude Haldi
1974 John Fitzpatrick
1973 Clemens Schickentanz
1972 John Fitzpatrick
1971 Erwin Kremer
1970 Gijs van Lennep