Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

Updated IMSA Roar Test Entry Released

The picture for Daytona becomes clearer

The latest update to the entry list for this week’s Roar Before The Daytona 24 Test provides some clarity on the plans for a number of teams.

Still numbering 40 cars, 15% down on 2019, the list shows full driver squads for the majority of the teams involved:

In DPi the major update is that Mazda Team Joest has now named their line-ups with Ryan Hunter-Reay added for Daytona to the returning full season pairing of Harry Tincknell and Jonathan Bomarito in the #55 RT24P.

The sister #77 car again sees an unchanged full season pairing, Tristan Nunez again joined by Oliver Jarvis, but with Olivier Pla moving over from the #55 as the enduro third man.

JDC Miller list Tristan Vautier in both the #5 Mustang Sampling car as well as the #85.

LMP2 sees updates for both Performance tech and PR1/ Mathiasen.

The #38 Performance Tech Oreca has the returning trio of Cameron Cassels, Robert Masson and Kyle Masson.

Both PR1/ Mathiasen Oreca’s are listed though the #51 only has Gabriel Aubry listed at present.  The Frenchman is also listed in the sister #52 alongside Simon Trummer and Ben Keating, Keating has confirmed that his intention is to compete in both the LMP2 and GTD classes at Daytona. He’s also listed in the #74 Riley Motorsports AMG GT3.

There are no surprises in GTLM but in GTD there are several changes to note:

Michael de Quesada is an addition to the #14 AIM Vasser Sullivan Lexus effort.

Rahel Frey is listed in the #19 GEAR/ GRT Lamborghini for the test with Bia Figueiredo, initially announced for Daytona, not listed for the Roar in a car now revealed with a spectacular Andy Blackmore designed pop art livery.

The #47 Precision Performance Motorsp[orts Huracan is listed with just Brandon Gdovic as a nominated driver as yet.

Finally, Turner Motorsport has named a quartet of drivers for the test. The evergreen Bill Auberlen returns together with BMW factory man Jens Klingmann and Robbie Foley III and Dillon Machavern.