Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

2020 Super Taikyu Series Calendar Announced

Season will commence with Fuji 24h on 5-6 September, concludes in January 2021 at Suzuka

The Super Taikyu Organisation (STO) has officially announced the 2020 calendar for the Pirelli Super Taikyu Series, which will run from September 2020 to January 2021.

All six of the major Japanese circuits will remain on the new calendar and all of the events scheduled will remain in their original formats, so only the dates have changed.

The season will commence with the biggest race of the year, the 2020 NAPAC Fuji Super TEC 24 Hours on the weekend of 4-6 September at Fuji Speedway, which is set to be the only major endurance sports car race set to take place in Japan in the 2020 calendar year.

Sportsland Sugo will host the second round on 11 October, and Okayama International Circuit will host the third round on 1 November. These rounds will consist of two three-hour races.

Then, the second half of the season will consist of the three five-hour races: The first, at Twin Ring Motegi, on 22 November; the second, at Autopolis International Racing Course, on 13 December – before wrapping up on 24 January 2021, at Suzuka Circuit.

A similar calendar was announced two weeks prior by the TCR Series, then retracted at the request of the STO until today’s announcement.

In addition, to reduce the burden on drivers and teams this season, and to reduce the movement and risk of infection at the track, only the five best race results this season will count towards each respective classes’ championship results, teams that are able to run all six races will have their lowest score dropped.

Super Taikyu’s live streaming broadcasts “S-Tai TV” may be limited in scale and only available for certain rounds, and the planned introduction of LED position lights for the cars has been pushed back until the 2021 season.

2020 Pirelli Super Taikyu Series Calendar (as of 10 June 2020)

4-6 September: NAPAC Fuji Super TEC 24 Hours
10-11 October: Sportsland Sugo (2x3h)
30 October-1 November: Okayama International Circuit (2x3h)
21-22 November: Twin Ring Motegi (5h)
12-13 December: Autopolis International Racing Course (5h)
23-24 January 2021: Suzuka Circuit (5h)