Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

Acura Front-Row Lockout At Road America

Vanthoor GTLM Pole for Porsche, Kelly in LMP2 for PR1, Lexus lock out in GTD

Ricky Taylor put the #7 Acura Team Penske ARX-05c on pole for the IMSA Weathertech Series race from Road America with a 1:49.061. This is the ninth pole position in IMSA competition for Taylor.

The #6 Acura Team Penske ARX-05c with Dane Cameron ended the session in second leaving Acura with a front-row lockout. Cameron’s best time was a 1:49.379.

Third and fourth on the grid was secured by Mazda with the #55 Mazda RT-24P of Harry Tincknell getting the best of his teammate Tristan Nunez in the #77 Mazda RT-24P by 0.513 seconds.

The #10 Wayne Taylor Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R. was the best-placed Cadillac in fifth but was over a full second behind the pole-sitting Taylor.

The session was briefly red-flagged after the #31 Whelen Engineering Cadillac DPi-V.R. with Felipe Nasr onboard spun into the gravel trap at turn two. Because he caused the red flag, Nasr’s quickest time was deleted and dropped the #31 Cadillac down to spots to seventh in class.

That was the only notable incident in any of the sessions.

In GTLM, Laurens Vanthoor put the #912 Porsche 911 RSR on pole position with a record-breaking time of 2:00.590.

Jordan Taylor was 0.264 seconds behind the pole-sitter in the #3 Corvette C8.R. Taylor’s best time was a 2:00.854. Olivier Gavin in the #4 Corvette C8.R ended the session in third, his best time was a 2:00.904.

While they did not manage to break into the top three, BMW looked far more competitive than they did at Sebring where they played virtually no part in the GTLM fight. The #25 BMW M8 GTE with Bruno Spengler ended the session half a second behind Vanthoor.

His teammate Jesse Krohn in the #24 BMW M8 was fourth tenths of a second behind Spengler with a time of 2:01.202.

Despite being hit with a Balance of Performance adjustment that reduced their power, Lexus still managed to lock out the front row of the GTD grid with little challenge from the rest of the field.

Aaron Telitz scored pole position in the #14 AIM Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC-F GT3 and bested his teammate Frankie Montecalvo in the #12 AIM Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC-F GT3 by seven-tenths of a second.

Telitz’s best time in the #14 Lexus was a 2:06.251 while Montecalvo’s best time was a 2:07.038 in the #12 Lexus.

Over one second behind the pole-sitting Lexus was Corey Fergus in the #76 Compass Racing McLaren 720s GT3. Fergus’ best time was a 2:07.265. Robby Foley in the #96 Turner Motorsports BMW M6 GT3 ended the session in fourth and was just 0.096 seconds behind Fergus.

In LMP2, Patrick Kelly became the first repeat pole-sitter this year in the #52 PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports ORECA 07. Kelly’s time of 1:54.474 was nearly a full second quicker than the rest of the field.

The #81 DragonSpeed ORECA 07 with Henrik Hedman was second with a time of 1:55.427. Cameron Cassels in the #38 Performance Tech Motorsports ORECA 07 rounded out the top three with a time of 1:56.965.

The green flag is scheduled for tomorrow, Sunday, at 11:05 AM CDT or 16:05 UTC.


Pics copyright and courtesy IMSA/ Levitt