Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

Audi 1,2 At NLS5 As Octane 126 Ferrari Is Chased Down On Final Lap

Mattia Drudi, Christopher Mies and Kelvin Van der Linde celebrated the 25th NLS victory for Land-Motorsport in the #29 Audi R8 LMS GT3. At the finish line, the lead over the #32 Car Collection R8 of Mirko Bortolotti, Robin Frijns, Christopher Haase and Markus Winkelhock was just 3.988 seconds after 41 laps. In third place, Luca Ludwig and Björn Grossmann in the Ferrari 488 GT3 of Octane 126 made the podium after a bold pit strategy partly paid off.

The Octane 126 Ferrari led for 14 laps but in the final stages was forced into fuel-saving to make the podium.

 “From the third lap of my stint on, fuel-saving was the order of the day. We chose a bold strategy. In the end, the race literally seemed to get longer and longer. About a minute before the time runs out, after eight laps I crossed the start-finish line. After that I really had to let it roll, ”said 31-year-old Ludwig. “On the last lap, I couldn’t push anymore and had to let both Audis go. In the end, however, I prefer a finish third place than having to park on the side without fuel. ”

The two Audi teams were surprised by the Ferrari not putting up a fight. “Getting past Luca was somehow too easy,” said Christopher Mies. “Still, I’m happy about the win. The last laps were a lot of fun, chasing Mirko over the Nordschleife in a pair flight. ”Drudi added:“ I’m contesting my first Nordschleife season, a win is of course fantastic. ”Van der Linde had the team with one in qualifying Time of 7:56.253 minutes, the fastest training lap of the season, secured the pole position.

The runners-up were also happy with the result and scored the fastest race lap (7: 57.777 minutes). Markus Winkelhock. “We are satisfied with the result. We have the right pace for the 24h race, in the end, we want to be at the top. ”

The lead changed 16 times during the race.

In addition to the top three teams, Mercedes-AMG Team HRT also led as did the Frikadelli Racing Team Porsche 911 GT3 R, GetSpeed ​​Performance Mercedes-AMG GT3, Konrad Motorsport Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo, Falken Motorsports and Manthey-Racing Porsches.

The Mercedes-AMG Team GetSpeed ​​finished fourth overall with Raffaele Marciello, Maximilian Götz, Maximilian Buhk and Fabian Schiller. The #99 ROWE Racing BMW M6 GT3 with Philipp Eng, Alexander Sims, Nick Catsburg and Nick Yelloly finished in fifth place. The fastest Pro-Am vehicle was driven by Klaus Abbelen, Lance David Arnold and Alex Müller for Frikadelli Racing (Porsche 911 GT3 R).

The fastest SP9-Am team was Hella Pagid – racing one with Christian Kohlhaas, Nikolaj Rogivue and Mike Jäger in their Ferrari 488 GT3.

The two debutants in the Nürburgring endurance series – FFF Racing Group (Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo) and 10Q Racing Team (Mercedes-AMG GT3) – finished 17th and 23rd. The prototype of the Scuderia Cameron Glickenhaus 004c, completed the 6h – Race but several laps down and was ranked 98th in the end.

Victory in Cup 5 (BMW M240 i Racing) went to Heiko Eichenberg and Moritz Oberheim from the AVIA Sorg Rennsport team. The Cup X (KTM X-BOW Cup powered by MICHELIN) went to Georg Griesemann, Reinhard Kofler and Yves Volte.

Championship leaders Christopher Rink, Danny Brink and Philipp Leisen celebrated their fifth V4 class victory in five races in the Pixum CFN Team Adrenalin Motorsport BMW 325i.

Thorsten Jung, who finished second in class Cup 3 (Cayman T4 Trophy by Manthey Racing) in the Mühlner-Porsche, is still in second place. After six hours he, along with Peter Terting and Oskar Sandberg, had to give in to the victorious Ravenol Performance team with drivers Horst Baumann, Ivan Jacoma and Kai Riemer by 9.857 seconds. In the ROWE Speed ​​Trophy, the BMW with start number # 34 from Walkenhorst Motorsport leads the Mercedes-AMG GT3 from Mercedes-AMG Team GetSpeed ​​Performance. Car Collection took third place with the Audi R8 LMS # 32.

The seventh race of the Nürburgring endurance series will take place on October 24th. The 45th DMV Münsterland Cup leads over the usual distance of four hours. A large number of the NLS teams will, of course, contest the 24-hour race at the Nürburgring (September 24th to 27th).


Pictures copyright: Jochen van Cauwenberge ‘Frozenspeed’