Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

Post Le Mans Notebook: Records, Championship Standings & News

After a very different Le Mans

The Peugeot 908 HDI FAP which PSA CEO Carlos Tavares lapped the Le Mans circuit aboard pre-race was chassis 9, the Sebring 12 Hours and Petit Le Mans winning car from 2010, now in the custody of BBM Sport whose Technical Director Steve Briggs was on hand at Le Mans to support the car.

The Porsche 919 Hybrid, handed over by Porsche to the ACO as a permanent exhibit in the Le Mans museum was explained to be an unraced development chassis fitted with elements of Le Mans raced bodywork from 2016 and presented in the livery of the 2016 race winner.

The ‘dynamic’ debut of the Toyota GR Concept at the start ceremony of the race was the first time that one of Toyota’s development prototype road cars, on which their 2021 LMH ‘Hypercar’ racer is to be based, had been seen in Europe.

The H24 car seen on the grid and lapping before the race is not the brand new car set to continue the development programme for the ACO-backed project, but rather the last iteration of the earlier LMPH2G test bed. The newer car begins its test programme this week.


The win for Toyota Gazoo Racing gave them an unbeatable lead over Rebellion Racing in the World Teams Championship, also sealing the decision by Rebellion not to contest the final round of the Championship in Bahrain.

The Championship win is the third for Toyota after clinching the Manufacturer’s Championship in 2014 and the Team Championship in the 2018/19 ‘Super Season and again this season.

The third consecutive Le Mans win also means that Toyota keeps the current winner’s trophy in perpetuity, the handover happening a couple of hours after the race finish.

Race winners Sebastien Buemi and Kazuki Nakajima claimed a third consecutive win at Le Mans, the first drivers to do so since Marco Werner from 2005-07.

Brendon Hartley claimed his second Le Mans win, his first for Toyota and became the first man to win the race in the Hybrid LMP1 era for two different factory teams after his 2017 win for Porsche. Buemi, Nakajima and Hartley also moved into the lead of the Drivers’ World Championship and now have a seven-point edge over the sister Toyota crew setting up a potentially edgy finale to the season!

It was Michelin’s 23rd consecutive overall win.

Rebellion Racing scored their best ever overall finish at Le Mans with second place, their previous high point a third place overall in 2018.

That second place is the highest overall finish at Le Mans for a non-hybrid or diesel LMP1 car since Pescarolo in 2006 (though the feat was matched in 2017 by the Jackie Chan DC Racing LMP2 car!)

Bruno Senna equals the best ever finish by a Brazilian driver at Le Mans (none has ever won) with three others, Carlos Pace in 1973, Raoul Boesel in 1991, and Lucas di Grassi in 2014.


The win for the #22 United Autosports Oreca 07 sees the team and drivers Phil Hanson and Filipe Albuquerque provisionally claim the WEC titles for 2020 after a remarkable run of success, this the fourth consecutive win for the squad in the WEC this season.

Add in the ELMS and the Hanson/ Albuquerque combo have scored six wins, and with the win for the sister #32 car at the opening round of the ELMS at Paul Ricard that winning run for United extends to seven LMP2 races across all competition, an unprecedented run.

It’s a first win for the team and for all three drivers at Le Mans.

The United win was one of three class wins for British teams at the 24 Hours, a mark not achieved since 1982 when John Fitzpatrick Racing won the IMSA GTX class (below), Charles Ivey Racing took the Group 5 win and Richard Cleare Racing won Group 4. (there have been two British team class winners seven times since then including 2017 when AMR and JMW won the GTE classes and the Jota Sport-run but Chinese-flagged Jackie Chan DC Racing won in LMP2).

The second-placed Jota and third-placed Panis Racing cars were the first podium finishers for Goodyear since Corvette Racing’s similar 2nd an 3rd place finishes in GTS in 2003.

The 3rd place for the #31 Panis Racing Oreca is the team’s best Le Mans result in five attempts (all the previous four under the Panis Barthez team name.

The result also saw the largest number of non-finishers in the class since the switch to Gibson power in 2017 with five retirements, the #37 Jackie Chan DC Racing car excluded for getting outside assistance to restart from trackside (slave battery) and the unfortunate #39 SO24 Has by Graff car that crashed out in the closing stages and was not classified.


The double podium for Aston Martin secured the WEC Manufacturers title for the marque, its first Manufacturers title in the WEC.

The win for Aston Martin Racing is the second for the team in the GTE Pro era and the Prodrive-run teams’ fifth in total after two wins in GT1 with the DBR9 and one in GTE Am.

It’s the first Le Mans win for the current turbo-powered Vantage (with a second for TF Sport in GTE Am).

It is also the first double podium finish in Aston Martin Racing’s 16-year history at Le Mans.

Alex Lynn and Maxime Martin score their first Le Mans wins whilst Harry Tincknell adds a second to his 2014 LMP2 win with Jota Sport and joins an exclusive club of drivers who have won in both prototypes and GTs

The second place for AF Corse is the tenth podium finish at Le Mans across GTE Pro and GTE AM for the Ferrari 488 GTE (with an 11th scored in GTE Am too).

A mistake on the GTE Pro class podium saw three Union Jacks flying rather than the Italian flag for the second-played AF Corse Ferrari!

The result for Porsche in 2016 with their best finishing Pro car coming fifth was their worst since 2016 when the best finisher was eighth in a stacked class.


TF Sport took their first Le Mans 24 Hours class win, the latest in a string of race and Championship wins that have been earned by Tom Ferrier’s Kent, UK-based team.

It is the first Aston Martin double class win of the modern era at Le Mans.

Jonny Adam becomes the first driver to win at Le Mans in both the GTE Pro and GTE Am classes.

Salih Yoluc has become the first-ever Turkish class winner at Le Mans after becoming the first-ever Turkish driver at the race on his debut in 2017.

Charlie Eastwood is the first Northern Irish born driver to win a class since Jonny Kane in 2010 and the first to race under an Irish license since David Kennedy back in 1989.

Both Riccardo Pera (2nd for Dempsey Proton Racing) and Nicklas Nielsen (3rd for AF Corse) take podium finishes on their Le Mans 24 Hours debuts.

Emmanuel Collard takes his seventh class or overall podium in his 24th Le Mans.

Proton Competition scores a fifth class podium in the WEC era at Le Mans.

AF Corse take an 18th podium across their customer teams in GT classes (plus one LMP2 podium).

In the WEC class Championship standings TF Sport now holds an 8 point lead over the #83 AF Corse Ferrari, these are now the only two crews in the title fight at Bahrain.