Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

22 Car GT3 Entry Confirmed For Gulf 12 Hours

GT4 and Lamborghini Super Trofeo class entries set to be published next week

22 Car GT3 Entry Confirmed for Gulf 12 Hours

The 10th edition of the Gulf 12 Hours, set to take place on 9 January 2021, will feature at least 22 GT3 cars after the first part of the provisional 34-car entry list was revealed for the event at Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi.

The second part of the entry list (for GT4 and Lamborghini Super Trofeo cars), will be announced next week.

Audi will look to defend its 2019 race victory, the first for the marque in the history of Gulf 12 Hours. Car Collection Motorsport and Spirit Race Team Uwe Alzen Automotive will each enter a single Audi R8 LMS GT3.

Factory Bentley squad M-Sport will field a single Continental GT3 alongside customer outfit Team Parker Racing, while Optimum Motorsport will return to challenge for top honours with one of its McLaren 720S examples, going up against fellow McLaren team Balfe Motorsport and two cars entered by British-Bahraini team 2 Seas Motorsport.

The contingent of Mercedes-AMG machinery will be headed by a two-car entry for Haupt Racing Team. Fellow German outfit HTP Motorsport, French team Akka ASP, and British squad RAM Racing, will add a single Mercedes each.

Former winners Kessel Racing will return once again, this year with three Ferrari 488 GT3 cars. Italian outfit Dinamic Motorsport will enter two Porsche GT3s with leading Porsche squad GPX Racing adding a further entry. French team 3Y Technology will also return for a second year with its BMW M6 GT3.

Andrea Ficarelli, director of race promoter Driving Force Events, commented: “The response from the GT3 market has been very strong, leading to the grid once again being overbooked.

“We have received many additional requests for GT3 entries above the 22 cars published. We are now finalising our GT4 and Lamborghini Super Trofeo class entry lists, and once these are closed, we may decide to allow additional GT3 cars to enter.”

2 Seas Motorsport – McLaren
2 Seas Motorsport – McLaren
3Y Technology – BMW
AF Corse – Ferrari
AF Corse – Ferrari
Akka ASP – Mercedes-AMG
Balfe Motorsport – McLaren
Car Collection Motorsport – Audi
Dinamic Motorsport – Porsche
Dinamic Motorsport – Porsche
GPX Racing – Porsche
Haupt Racing Team – Mercedes-AMG
Haupt Racing Team – Mercedes-AMG
HTP-Winward Motorsport – Mercedes-AMG
Kessel Racing – Ferrari
Kessel Racing – Ferrari
Kessel Racing -Ferrari
M-Sport Bentley – Bentley Continental
Optimum Motorsport – McLaren
Team Parker Racing – Bentley Continental
Ram Racing – Mercedes-AMG
Spirit Race Team Uwe Alzen Automotive – Audi