Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

2021 FIA Driver Rankings Published

Limited changes, but some significant names

Whilst the announcement earlier in the year that there would only be limited changes to the FIA Driver Rankings for 2021 means that the list of changes for next season is very much shorter than usual, there are still some significant names with changes to their FIA rankings which will apply from 1 January 2021.

Andrea Caldarelli and Daniel Serra are the only two new-for-2021 Platinum-ranked drivers, both as a result of their factory driver status (for Lamborghini and Ferrari respectively).

Four drivers move from Silver to Gold, WEC and ELMS LMP2 Champion Phil Hanson (pictured top), 2019 ELMS LMP3 Champion and current G-Drive Racing LMP2 driver Mikkel Jensen, 2020 Porsche Supercup Champion Larry ten Voorde and 2019/20 Asian Le Mans Series GT Champion Marcos Gomes.

Scott Pruett, Bryan Herta, Eric Lux, Ines Taittinger, Martin Fuentes and Sylvian Tremblay all move from Silver to Bronze with Johnny Mowlem and Soheil Ayari moving from Gold to Silver

There is one exception to the 2021 rankings, the 2020/2021 Asian Le Mans Series is expected to retain the 2020 rankings for their forthcoming season, their sporting regulations unaffected by the shift of the season to early 2021 in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic.

No move has been made to upgrade Bronze-ranked drivers in LMP3 which may be a surprise to several in the European paddocks!

FIA Driver Rankings List >>

Key Changes

Soheil Ayari – Gold to Silver
Andrea Caldarelli – Gold to Platinum
Martin Fuentes – Silver to Bronze
Marcos Gomes – Silver to Gold
Phil Hanson – Silver to Gold
Bryan Herta – Silver to Bronze
Mikkel Jensen – Silver to Gold
Takashi Kogure- Platinum to Gold
Eric Lux (US) – Silver to Bronze
Sheena Monk – Silver to Bronze
Johnny Mowlem – Gold to Silver
Scott Pruett – Silver to Bronze
Daniel Serra – Gold to Platinum
Ines Taittinger – Silver to Bronze
Shinichi Takagi – Gold to Silver
Larry Ten Voorde – Silver to Gold
Sylvian Tremblay -Silver to Bronze
Yury Wagner – Bronze to Silver