Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

Who Won Where This Weekend?

GT and Endurance Racing In Italy and South Africa

Finn Tuomas Tujula and Japanese Juki Nemoto took the 2020 Italian GT3 Sprint Championship in their Vincenzo Sospiri Racing Lamborghini after a rainy weekend at Vallelunga that saw them win race 1 but fail to score in Race 2.

Nemoto Yuki-Tujula Tuomas, Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo #19, Vincenzo Sospiri Racing

The results though, aided by the Championship’s rules on dropped scores saw the Lamborghini pair still having done enough to see off the challenge from closest title rival, and 2019 Champion Riccardo Agostini in the Audi Sport Italia R8 LMS that he shared with Mattia Drudi (below).

Drudi Mattia-Agostini Riccardo, Audi R8 LMS #12, Audi Sport Italia

Race 2 was won by the Imperiale Racing Huracan of Frassineti-Venturini (below).

Frassineti Alex-Venturini Giovanni, Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo #32, Imperiale Racing

The GT3 Pro-Am title went to Matteo Cressoni and Simon Mann in an AF Corse Ferrari.

Francesco Guerra and Simone Riccitelli (BMW Team Italia M4 GT4) took the GT4 PRO-AM title

Daniel Vebster and Giacomo Riva (Cram Racing Porsche Cayman) claimed the title in GT4 AM.

Start race 1

Race 1 Result >>Race 2 Result >>

The Italian GT Endurance Championship was settled last month with Giorgio Roda, Alessio Rovera and Antonio Fuoco taking the overall title in an AF Corse-run Ferrari.

The other Italian endurance titles went to Hudspeth-Michelotto-Greco (Ferrari 488-Easy Race) in GT3 PRO-AM, Gnemmi-De Castro-Pera (Porsche Cayman-Ebimotors) in GT4 PRO-AM and Luca Magnoni (Mercedes AMG GT4-Nova Race) in GT4 AM.

South African Endurance Championship

Whilst there has been much mainstream interest in next weekend’s Kyalami 9 Hours, the final round of the 2020 IGTC, there’s been rather less commentary on another 9-hour race in Such Africa that happened this weekend.

The Killarney 9 Hours completed the 2020 South African Endurance Championship and saw a win from the 37 car mixed GT, touring car and prototype field for a 1972 vintage Chevron B26 (albeit powered by a modern 2.9 litre Suzuki V8!)

The car, entered by Franco Scribante Racing saw off a spirited challenge from Team Africa Le Mans and their multi-car Ginetta effort:

Anthony Reid, Jeroen Bleekemolen and Hennie Groenewald would bring their 4.3 litre Nissan V8 engined G55 GT3 home a distant second whilst the sister GT3 car, crewed in evergreen style by Jan Lammers, Michael Bleekemolen and Sarel Van Der Merwe would be an early retirement.

The AidCall247 with Rico Barlow Racing Ligier JS53 EVO of Michelin Le Mans Cup regulars Nick Adcock and Michael Jensen, joined by Formula Ford racer Dean Venter completed the overall podium.