Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

Toyota In World Championship Sportscar Racing: 100 Races Up

Photography by Toyota

The Portimao 8 Hours marks the 100th World Championship Sportscar event for Toyota, including the World Sportscar Championship of the Group C era, and, since 2012, the FIA World Endurance Championship.

The first win for the marque came in 1992 with the V10-powered TS010 for Geoff Lees and Hitoshi Ogawa, this the first of 31 overall wins so far, 30 of which have been in the WEC.

That tally of victories has seen Toyota claim FIA World Drivers Championship titles for Fernando Alonso (2018/19), Sebastien Buemi (2014, 2018/19), Mike Conway (2019/20), Anthony Davidson (2014), Kamui Kobayashi (2019/20), Jose Maria Lopez (2019/20) and Kazuki Nakajima (2018/19) and three world Manufacturer titles (2014, 2018/19 and 2019/20)

Here’s a full list of the results of the first 99 World Championship races.

Toyota World Championship Sportscar Results >>

And with thanks to Toyota Gazoo Racing here’s a gallery that includes pics of each different car involved in the history, not quite every race, but every car. Here’s to 100 more!