Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

Audi & AMG Wins At Lausitzring

Race 1

After the best time of the day on Friday and pole position on Saturday morning, Ricardo Feller continued his perfect weekend in the first race at the DEKRA Lausitzring.

At the start, the Swiss defended his lead and slowly pulled away from his pursuers. When he handed over to partner Christopher Mies during the compulsory pit stop in the middle of the race, he had stretched out a time cushion of 3.5 seconds.

The German Audi factory driver then extended the lead to around five seconds before the race was red-flagged with a bit more than 20 minutes remaining after oil loss from Jules Gounon’s Zakspeed Mobil Krankenkasse Racing and the heavily soiled road had to be cleaned.

After the restart, Maro Engel attacked leader Mies, who was able to hold his own at the top.

A safety car phase to recover Simona De Silvestro’s Precote Herberth Motorsport Porsche thee was then another spirited four-lap final battle. Engel attacked again, and Mies stayed ahead again, this time to the finish. In addition to the overall victory, team-mate Feller also took full points in the Pirelli Junior classification.

Luca Stolz and Maro Engel took their second podium of the season in second place. They started the race from third and had improved by one position at the start. The Lamborghini drivers Bortolotti and Costa Balboa were the ones who suffered, although they could look forward to another podium as third.

Behind them, Mann-Filter Team Landgraf – HTP / WWR pair Raffaele Marciello and Maximilian Buhk crossed the finish line in fourth, which means they are still in second place in the table. Local hero Mike David Ortmann and Clemens Schmid secured their best result of the season so far in another Lamborghini from the GRT Grasser Racing Team ahead of the Team Joos Sportwagentechnik Porsche duo David Jahn and Jannes Fittje.

BMW works drivers Nick Yelloly and Jesse Krohn in the Schubert Motorsport M6 GT3 showed a strong chase to catch up in seventh place: Yelloly was turned around at the start and dropped to 25th place.

Eighth went to Rolf Ineichen and Franck Perera in the third Grasser Lamborghini.

Ineichen also won the Pirelli Trophy classification. Porsche drivers Joel Eriksson and Julien Andlauer crossed the finish line in ninth place on their first outing for Küs Team Bernhard, tenth place went to Rutronik Racing by Tece’s Elia Erhart and Pierre Kaffer in another Audi R8 LMS.

The race was unhappy for the previous championship leaders SSR Performance’s Michael Ammermüller and Mathieu Jaminet. Starting driver Ammermüller was turned around by another vehicle on the second lap and fell back to the end of the field. Ammermüller then had to complete a drive-through penalty because of the collision with Nick Yelloly. The Porsche finished in 13th place.


Race 2

It was a perfect 24th birthday for Igor Waliłko who, together with Mercedes-AMG works driver Jules Gounon took their Zakspeed Mobil Krankenkasse Racing AMG GT3 Evo to their first win of the season on Sunday at the DEKRA Lausitzring topping an AMG podium clean sweep, second place (as it had in race 1) went to Mercedes-AMG Team Toksport WRT’s Luca Stolz and Maro Engel with Raffaele Marciello and Maximilian Buhk completing the podium in their Mann Filter Team Landgraf HTP/WWR Mercedes-AMG.

“It’s the best birthday present you can imagine,” said first-time winner Waliłko. “I don’t know what to say. Jules has one A great job. But a big thank you also goes to the team that repaired our car late into the night after yesterday’s breakdown. ”

Jules Gounon laid the foundation for the victory in qualifying when he took pole position for the first time this season and stayed ahead from the start.

The Frenchman had a lead of almost three seconds before the mandatory pit stops, his AMG colleagues Maro Engel and Maximilian Buhk lurking behind.

After the driver changes, Gounon’s partner Waliłko continued to hold her own in front of Stolz and Marciello, who had also taken over from their partners.

A late safety car phase to allow recovery of Jeffrey Schmidt’s Callaway Competition Corvette C7 GT3-R after the car caught fire, pushed the field together again and ensured an exciting final phase.

After the restart, Stolz attacked the Pole again, but to no avail. Waliłko also won the Pirelli Junior classification.

Stolz and Engel finally crossed the finish line just under 3.5 seconds behind with Raffaele Marciello and Maximilian Buhk retaining their title ambitions and a podium slot despite a defective damper in the final stages.

In fourth place, the Küs Team Bernhard Porsche duo of Joel Eriksson and Julien Andlauer, who started together for the first time this weekend, just barely missed the podium.

Mirko Bortolotti and Albert Costa Balboa came home fifth in the best Lamborghini Huracán GT3 Evo finish aboard their GRT Grasser Racing Team Huracan. Montaplast by Land-Motorsport Audi duo Ricardo Feller and Christopher Mies crossed the finish line in sixth place this time after their victory the day before and thus defended their lead in the standings. Feller and Mies are now three points ahead of Marciello / Buhk, their closest rivals.

A second GRT Grasser Racing Team duo, Rolf Ineichen and Franck Perera crossed the finish line in seventh place with their Lamborghini. Perera started the race in second but lost several positions in the early stages. Ineichen nevertheless secured his second victory of the weekend in the Pirelli Trophy classification.

The top 10 was completed by an Audi trio: Kim-Luis Schramm and Dennis Marschall (Rutronik Racing by Tece), Luca-Sandro Trefz  and Christopher Haase (Montaplast by Land-Motorsport) and ex-champions Sebastian Asch  and Daniel Keilwitz (Aust Motorsport).