Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

FIA World Champions To Be Crowned in Vienna

Porsche Team to receive its 2016 trophy haul

The 2016 season of motorsport comes to a climax this evening, as the FIA Prize Giving ceremony takes place at the Imperial Hofburg Palace in Vienna, Austria, which will see Porsche Team and its three drivers in the #2 919 receive their trophies.

On their way into the Hofburg, the stars of motorsport will walk a red carpet bordered by Austrian fans hoping for a chance to meet their racing heroes, as well as the five World Championship winning cars from Formula One, WRC, WEC, WTCC and World RX.

The stars gathering for the glittering gala include the top three drivers from this year’s F1 World Championship – Nico Rosberg, Lewis Hamilton and Daniel Ricciardo – four-time FIA WRC champion crew Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia, victorious WEC Porsche LMP1 drivers, Neel Jani, Romain Dumas and Marc Lieb, as well as all-conquering WTCC ace José María López, WRX champion Matthias Ekström and Formula E champion Sébastien Buemi.

In addition to the championship honours, a number of other awards will also be presented. These include an award voted for by the public, FIA Action of the Year, as well as the FIA Personality of the Year, which was selected by permanent FIA-accredited journalists and FIA Rookie of the Year, decided by the FIA Drivers’ Commission.