Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

BMW Field Tribute Livery Marking 50 Years (& 19 BMW Wins) At N24

BMW M2 CS Racing pays tribute to winning drivers

2020 marks 50 years since the inaugural Nürburgring 24 Hours of the endurance classic and whilst no major anniversary event is possible as the ripples of COVID19 continue to be felt, the overall winners of that first race is marking their part in Nordschleife history with a BMW M2 CS Racing media car, featuring a special livery bearing the names of all the drivers who were involved in BMW’s 19 overall N24 victories thus far.

The blue and white livery pays homage to the first winning car in 1970 and is complemented by present-day BMW M Motorsport design elements on the bonnet.

At the wheel of the BMW M2 CS Racing media car will be BMW works driver Dirk Adorf and fellow racing driver Tom Coronel. They will share the cockpit with journalists Christian Gebhardt from SportAuto and Niki Schelle from GRIP Magazine.

“The fact that we are celebrating the anniversary of both the 24-hour race and the first BMW victory, and that the 19 overall wins are listed on our Media Car, shows that BMW is the brand that has shaped this event more than any other over the decades,” said Adorf. “I am happy and proud that we will compete in the BMW M2 CS Racing with a high-quality quartet, which has all the skills required to make it through the race distance in good shape. We would all much prefer for the race to be held in front of our fans, but unfortunately, that is not possible this year. Hopefully, this means there will be even greater media interest, which we will take into account with our BMW M2 CS Racing media car.”

BMW’s 19 overall victories at a glance:

1970: Hans-Joachim Stuck, Clemens Schickentanz, BMW 2002 TI Koepchen
1971: Ferfried Prinz von Hohenzollern, Gerold Pankl, BMW 2002 Alpina
1972: Helmut Kelleners, Gerold Pankl, BMW 2800 CS Alpina
1973: Niki Lauda, Hans-Peter Joisten, BMW 3.0 CSL Alpina
1984: Axel Felder, Franz-Josef Bröhling, Peter Oberndorfer, BMW 635 CSi
1985: Axel Felder, Jürgen Hamelmann, Robert Walterscheid-Müller, BMW 635 CSi
1986: Markus Oestreich, Otto Rensing, Winfried Vogt, BMW 325i
1989: Emanuele Pirro, Roberto Ravaglia, Fabien Giroix, BMW M3
1990: Altfrid Heger, Joachim Winkelhock, Frank Schmickler, BMW M3
1991: Kris Nissen, Joachim Winkelhock, Armin Hahne, BMW M3
1992: Johnny Cecotto, Christian Danner, Jean-Michel Martin, Marc Duez, BMW M3
1994: Karl-Heinz Wlazik, Frank Katthöfer, Fred Rosterg, BMW M3
1995: Roberto Ravaglia, Marc Duez, Alexander Burgstaller, BMW 320i
1996: Johannes Scheid, Sabine Reck, Hans Widmann, BMW M3
1997: Johannes Scheid, Sabine Reck, Hans-Jürgen Tiemann, Peter Zakowski, BMW M3
1998: Marc Duez, Andreas Bovensiepen, Christian Menzel, Hans-Joachim Stuck, BMW 320d
2004: Pedro Lamy, Dirk Müller, Jörg Müller, Hans-Joachim Stuck, BMW M3 GTR
2005: Boris Said, Duncan Huisman, Andy Priaulx, Pedro Lamy, BMW M3 GTR
2010: Jörg Müller, Augusto Farfus, Uwe Alzen, Pedro Lamy, BMW M3 GT2 (picture top)